Paul Winter (2) / Paul Halley, Leonard Nimoy ‎– Whales Alive

Living Music ‎– LD0013
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Whales Weep Not! (Overture) / Lullaby From The Great Mother Whale For The Baby Seal Pups
Cello – Eugene FriesenEnglish Horn – Nancy RumbelGuitar – Jim Scott (5)Harmonium – Viki Sylva*Organ – Paul HalleyRead By – Leonard NimoySarrusophone [E-flat Contrabass], Soprano Saxophone – Paul Winter (2)Tambora – Ted MooreWords By – D.H. Lawrence*Written-By – Humpback Whale, Jim Scott (5), P. Winter*
2 Dawnwatch
Organ – Paul HalleyRead By – Leonard NimoySoprano Saxophone – Paul Winter (2)Words By – Elizabeth KemfWritten-By – R. Payne*, Humpback Whale, P. Winter*
3 George And Gracie
Talking Drum [Giant] – P. Winter*Written-By – R. Payne*, Humpback Whale, P. Winter*
4 Turning
Piano – Paul HalleyRead By – Leonard NimoySoprano Saxophone – Paul Winter (2)Words By – Gary SnyderWritten-By – Paul Halley
5 Concerto For Whale And Organ
Organ – Paul HalleyWritten-By – R. Payne*, Humpback Whale, P. Winter*
6 Humphrey's Blues
Organ – Paul HalleySoprano Saxophone – Paul Winter (2)Written-By – R. Payne*, Humpback Whale, P. Halley*, P. Winter*
7 Queequeg And I / The Water Is Wide
Percussion – Ted MooreRead By – Leonard NimoySoprano Saxophone – Paul Winter (2)Words By – Herman MelvilleWritten-By [Queequeg And I] – Humpback Whale, P. Winter*Written-By [The Water Is Wide] – Traditional
8 Ocean Dream
Bass – Gary KingCello, Cello [8-string Electric] – David DarlingDrums [Water Drum] – Laudir de OliveiraGuitar [Steel String] – John GuthOrgan, Synthesizer [Moog], Bass, Tambora – Robert ChappellRead By – Leonard NimoySoprano Saxophone – Paul Winter (2)Surdo [Brazilian], Caixa [Grand Cassa], Percussion [Traps] – Steve GaddWords By – Herman MelvilleWritten-By – Humpback Whale, P. Winter*
9 The Voyage Home (Finale)
Organ – Paul HalleyPercussion – Ted MooreRead By – Leonard NimoySoprano Saxophone – Paul Winter (2)Words By – Roger Payne*Written-By – R. Payne*, Humpback Whale, P. Hally*



Recorded January 1987 in the Cathedral of St.John the Divine, New York City. Additional Recording with Effanel Music remote truck, at Audio West, at Manhattan Sound, at RBY Studio and in the Grand Canyon. Mixed at Living Music Studio.

©℗ 1987 Living Music, Inc.

For recordings of humpback whales, special thanks to the Center for Coastal Studies, the New york Zoological Society, Katherine Payne, Roger Payne, Peter Tyack and Frank Watlington.

Mastered at Masterdisk, New York City.

"This album dedicated to the memory of Frank Watlington of Bermuda. Friend, engineer, and lover of whales, his recordings of humpback whales were the first heard by most of us. They are still unsurpassed. His generosity made them available to all the world."

Track 1: Reading from from D.H.Lawrence, "Whales Weep Not!", from the Complate Poems of D.H.Lawrence. Originally recorded as "Lullaby from the Mother Whale for the Seal Pups" for Paul Winter's Callings (LM 0001).

Track 2: This whale is several miles in the distance.

Track 3: "George" and "Gracie" are the nicknames of the two whales who star in Star Trek IV.

Track 4: Reading "Mother Earth, Her Whales ," from Turtle Island.

Track 7: Reading from "Moby Dick", Chapter XLVII.

Track 9: Reading from "Moby Dick", Chapter CXVI. Originally recorded for Paul Winter's Common Ground (A&M SP-4698).

Track 10: Reading from "The Voyage Home".

© 1987 Earth Music Productions
Made in USA

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 1048-80013-2 1
  • Matrix / Runout: DIDX 005834 1
  • Other (DADC Mastering Code): DIDX 005834