Pet Shop Boys ‎– Introspective

Parlophone ‎– PCS 7325, Parlophone ‎– 79 0868 1
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Left To My Own Devices
Arranged By [Orchestra], Conductor [Orchestra] – Richard NilesEngineer – Stephen LipsonProducer – Stephen Lipson, Trevor HornVocals [Additional] – Sally Bradshaw
A2 I Want A Dog
Engineer – David Jacob, Mike Nielson*Engineer [Mix] – John PoppoMixed By, Producer [Additional] – Frankie KnucklesProducer – Pet Shop BoysSoloist, Piano – Josh Milian*
A3 Domino Dancing
Arranged By [Brass] – Lewis A. Martinée*Backing Vocals – The Voice In FashionBrass – Dana Tebor*, Ed Calle, Kenneth William Faulk*, Tony Conception*Engineer – Lewis A. Martinée*, Mike CouzziEngineer [Assistant] – Ceaser Sogbe*Guitar – Nestor GomezKeyboards [Additional] – Fro Sossa, Mike BakstMixed By – Lewis A. Martinée*, Mike Couzzi, Rick "Billy Bob" Alonso*Producer – Lewis A. Martinée*Producer [Associate Producers] – Pet Shop BoysScore [Brass Scored By] – Mike BakstSoloist, Trumpet – Tony Conception*
B1 I'm Not Scared
Engineer – David JacobProducer – David Jacob, Pet Shop BoysProgrammed By [Fairlight Programming] – Blue Weaver
B2 Always On My Mind / In My House
Engineer – Julian MendelsohnProducer – Julian Mendelsohn, Pet Shop BoysProducer [Produced With Thanks To] – David Jacob, Ian Curnow, Phil HardingProgrammed By [Fairlight Programming] – Andy Richards, Gary Maugham*Written-By – Christopher*, James*, Thompson*
B3 It's Alright
Engineer – Stephen LipsonProducer – Stephen Lipson, Trevor HornVocals [Additional] – H. Robert Carr*, Dee Ricketts, Derek Green, Gee Morris, Herbie Joseph, Iris Sutherland, Judy Bennett*, Mario Friendo (2), Michael Hoyte, Paul Lee, Sharon Blackwell, Yvonne WhiteWritten-By – Sterling Void

Companies, etc.



3 produced for Pantera Productions. The Voice In Fashion courtesy of EMI Manhattan records.
4 Newsreel soundtrack (Paris, 1968) supplied by Independent Television News.

All songs published by Cage Music Ltd/10 Music Ltd except 5 published by Screen/Gems/EMI Music Ltd and 6 published by EMI Music Ltd.

Mark Farrow at Three Associates.
Management at Massive.

℗ 1988 Original sound recordings made by EMI Records Ltd.
© 1988 EMI Records Ltd.

"Introspective" is a Digital recording, digitally mixed and mastered.

Printed in England
Manufactured in England
Printed inner sleeve.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 77779 08681 8
  • Barcode (String): 077779086818
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped, variant 1): PCS 7325 A-1-1-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped, variant 1): PCS 7325 B-1-1-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped, variant 2): PCS 7325 A-1-1-5 D
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped, variant 2): PCS 7325 B-1-1-4 D
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped, variant 3): PCS 7325 A-1-1-5 D
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped, variant 3): PCS 7325 B-1-1-1 D
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped, variant 4): PCS 7325 A-1-1-1 D
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped, variant 4): PCS 7325 B-1-1-1 D
  • Other (Sleeve print date/code): SP8810JU

Other Versions (5 of 166) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
TC-PCS 7325, TCPCS 7325, 79 0868 4 Pet Shop Boys Introspective(Cass, Album) Parlophone, Parlophone, Parlophone TC-PCS 7325, TCPCS 7325, 79 0868 4 UK 1988 Sell This Version
161088 Pet Shop Boys Introspective(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Not On Label 161088 Italy Unknown Sell This Version
PSB FK 002 Pet Shop Boys Introspective (CD, Album, RE, Unofficial) Parlophone (2) PSB FK 002 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
D 100681 Pet Shop Boys Introspective(CD, Album, Club) EMI-Manhattan Records D 100681 US 1988 Sell This Version
72438 19831-4-0 Pet Shop Boys Introspective(Cass, Album, Dol) EMI-Manhattan Records 72438 19831-4-0 US 1988 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



July 6, 2017

Introspective is the third studio album by the English synth-pop duo Pet Shop Boys, selling over 4.5 million copies worldwide.


October 19, 2016
"Introspective" is perhaps the last "classic" album for the Pet Shop Boys, even though the number of tracks is not really like on any other "standard" album. To me this is the last PSB album I can listen to from start to finish without skipping any track ever.

The tracks are long, yes but long good, not long boring.

"Left To My Own Devices" is incredible, magical : rap, classical music all mixed together and against all odds it works ! "I Want A Dog" which was a very experimental sounding song is here marvelously remixed by Frankie Knucckles : what a re-work, the sounds on this song are one of the best sounds I've ever heard on a dance/techno tune. "Domino Dancing" is the best remix I've ever heard in my entire life (and believe me, I've heard quite a few and I'm 41 years now old so...). The scratches, the enhanced rhythms and melody, you have to listen to it to believe it. I'm lost for words every time I hear it. It's so good it hurts.

Even though I must admit that I still prefer the Patsy Kensit/Eighth Wonder's version of "I'm Not Scared" this remixed version is quite nice too. I would have done it without the marching samples though. Their cult cover of Elvis' song "Always On My Mind" is remixed here by PSB using the incredible melody hook created by Phil Harding on his outstanding 12 inch remix, it's pop, going techno, returning to pop, a little bit of Phil Harding melody here, ending with the single version there, an incredible piece of work for more than 9 minutes of joyful mayhem.

And finally the Sterling Void cover "It's Alright" , it's my favourite mix here, so much more house music than the pop diluted single version. This version should have been just shortened to become the official single remix of the song. I can't help but clap in my hands every time I hear this remix.

For the first time the Pet Shop Boys start with long versions and then, remix them to make single versions. And even though all the tracks are long, they are far from "being boring". "Introspective" is their best selling album and when you listen to it, you surely know why that is.


November 6, 2014
Pushin Home and End on me keyboard but there are really no reviews. So I'll just comment, cause review would be too much to type - as I've known this album from my early teens - this LP should be an official test vinyl record of some sort. I've moved flats with it a few times. Testing it on different setups to see if my cartridge is still alive....PSB always wins against other records. Their 80s vinyl pressings must've been mastered by gods - I'm no expert so I'm typing this rubbish, I guess. ANYWAYS: PSB from 80s rule the house. ["what about the PSB 90s ?" they are long and boring to me, gap, and then HUZZAH ! Electric came. = win]