Peter Gabriel ‎– Passion

Virgin ‎– RWMC 1, Helicon Records ‎– RWMC 1
Cassette, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Feeling Begins
Drone [Drone Mix] – David BottrillDuduk [Armenian Doudouk] – Antranik Askarian, Vatche HousepianFinger Cymbals, Tabla, Percussion [Dufs] – Hossam RamzyGuitar – David RhodesSurdo [Surdu], Percussion [Octabans, Skins] – Manny EliasSynthesizer, Shaker, Percussion [Skins], Surdo [Surdu] – Peter GabrielViolin [Double Violin] – Shankar
A2 Gethsemane
Flute, Flute [Samples], Voice – Peter Gabriel
A3 Of These, Hope
Bass, Percussion, Whistle [Flute], Synthesizer [Prophet 5] – Peter GabrielDrone [Arghul] – Mustafa Abdel Aziz*Guitar – David RhodesTalking Drum – Massamba Dlop*Violin [Double Violin] – Shankar
A4 Lazarus Raised
Duduk [Kurdish], Woodwind [Tenbur] – Unknown ArtistGuitar – David RhodesPiano [Akai S900] – Peter Gabriel
A5 Of These, Hope - Reprise
Bass, Percussion, Whistle [Flute], Synthesizer [Prophet 5] – Peter GabrielDrone [Arghul] – Mustafa Abdel Aziz*Guitar – David RhodesPercussion [Additional] – FatalaTalking Drum – Massamba Dlop*Violin [Double Violin] – ShankarVocals – Baaba Maal
A6 In Doubt
Computer [Audioframe], Sampler [Fairlight], Voice – Peter GabrielKemenche [Kementché] – Mahmoud Tabrizi Zadeh*
A7 A Different Drum
Backing Vocals – David SanciousLoops [Percussion - 3 Bars] – FatalaLoops [Percussion - 4 Bars] – Doudou N'Diaye RosePercussion, Surdo [Surdu], Synthesizer [Prophet 5], Computer [Audioframe], Voice – Peter GabrielViolin [Double Violin] – ShankarVoice – Youssou N'Dour
A8 Zaar
Bass – Nathan EastFinger Cymbals, Tabla, Percussion [Dufs], Tambourine, Triangle – Hossam RamzyGuitar – David RhodesKemenche [Kementché] – Mahmoud Tabrizi Zadeh*Surdo [Surdu], Sampler [Akai S900], Computer [Audioframe], Voice, Percussion [Additional] – Peter GabrielViolin [Double Violin] – Shankar
A9 Troubled
Backing Vocals – David Sancious, Peter GabrielDrums, Percussion – Bill Cobham*Finger Cymbals – Hossam RamzyPercussion, Synthesizer [Fairlight, Emulator] – Peter Gabriel
A10 Open
Synthesizer [Prophet 5], Sampler [Akai S900], Voice – Peter GabrielViolin [Double Violin], Vocals, Composed By – Shankar
A11 Before Night Falls
Finger Cymbals, Tabla, Percussion [Dufs] – Hossam RamzyNey – Kudsi ErgunerViolin [Double Violin] – Shankar
A12 With This Love
Oboe, Cor Anglais – Robin CanterSynthesizer [Akai S900], Arranged By [Synthesiser] – David SanciousSynthesizer [Prophet 5, Fairlight], Computer [Audioframe], Voice, Piano, Arranged By [Synthesizer] – Peter GabrielViolin [Double Violin] – Shankar
B1 Sandstorm
Kemenche [Kementché] – Mahmoud Tabrizi Zadeh*Percussion [Additional] – Manu KatchéSynthesizer [Fairlight] – Peter GabrielTabla, Surdo [Surdu], Tambourine [Dufs, Mazhar] – Hossam RamzyViolin [Double Violin] – ShankarVocals [Moroccan], Percussion [Moroccan] – Unknown Artist
B2 Stigmata
Kemenche [Kementché], Composed By – Mahmoud Tabrizi Zadeh*Synthesizer [Prophet 5], Voice – Peter Gabriel
B3 Passion
Percussion [Brazilian] – Djalma CorreaSynthesizer [Prophet 5, Fairlight], Sampler [Akai S900], Voice – Peter GabrielTrumpet – Jon HassellViolin [Double Violin] – ShankarVocals [Choirboy] – Julian WilkinsVoice – Youssou N'DourVoice [Qawwali] – Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan
B4 With This Love - Choir
Cor Anglais – Robin CanterRecorded By [Choir] – Richard Evans (3)
B5 Wall Of Breath
E-Bow [Ebow Guitar] – David RhodesNey [Turkish] – Kudsi ErgunerSynthesizer – Peter GabrielViolin [Double Violin] – ShankarWoodwind [Arghul] – Musicians Du Nil*
B6 The Promise Of Shadows
Drums [Drum Kit] – Bill Cobham*Guitar – David RhodesSynthesizer [Prophet 5, Emulator], Computer [Audioframe], Percussion [Additional] – Peter GabrielTambourine [Lead] – David Bottrill
B7 Disturbed
Loops [Percussion] – Mustafa Abdel Aziz*, Said Mohammad AlyPercussion [African] – FatalaSynthesizer [Prophet 5, Fairlight] – Peter GabrielTabla, Surdo [Surdu] – Hossam RamzyViolin [Double Violin] – Shankar
B8 It Is Accomplished
Bass – Nathan EastDrone [Arghul] – Mustafa Abdel Aziz*Drums, Tambourine – Bill Cobham*Guitar [Steinberger] – David RhodesOrgan [Hammond] – David SanciousSynthesizer [Prophet 5, Roland D-50], Voice, Percussion [Additional], Piano, Drums [Doholla] – Peter GabrielTambourine [2], Performer [Distorted Slide] – David Bottrill
B9 Bread And Wine
E-Bow [Ebow Guitar] – David RhodesSynthesizer [Prophet 5], Voice, Contrabass – Peter GabrielTin Whistle – Richard Evans (3)Violin [Double Violin] – Shankar

Companies, etc.



Subtitle: Music for The Last Temptation of Christ, a film by Martin Scorcese.

"I have put together two albums around the music of The Last Temptation of Christ. This album is my work; the other, Passion Sources, represents a selection of some of the traditional music, sources of inspiration and location recordings.
I was excited to be asked to work on the music. When I first discussed the project with Martin Scorsese in 1983 I wanted to find out how he was intending to film this controversial novel. He wanted to present the struggle between the humanity and the divinity of Christ in a powerful and original way, and I was convinced by his commitment to the spiritual content and message. He is an excellent and very musical director and working with him has been a great experience.
After we finished mixing the film there were some unfinished ideas that needed developing, and I took some extra time to complete this record. There are several pieces that were not able to be included in the film and I felt that the record should be able to stand as a separate body of work. I chose the working title for the film - Passion.
We recorded some of the finest singers and soloists in the field of world music and we set the score on a backdrop of traditional North African rhythms and sounds. It wwas a wonderful experience working with such different and idiosyncratic musicians. They came from Pakistan, Turkey, India, Ivory Coast, Bahrain, Egypt, New Guinea, Morocco, Senegal and Ghana. For many of them working with this material was something quite new and they were very enthusiastic. The soundtrack is full of the spirit of their performances." Peter Gabriel

The following tracks contain selections from existing recordings of traditional music:
Track A1: The Doudouk is playing an Armenian melody; 'The Wind Subsides'(recorded for Ocora Records under the direction of Robert Ataian).
Track A4: This piece incorporates a traditional melody from Kurdistan telling of the unhappy love of a young girl for Bave Seyro, a legendary warrior. (Kurdish Duduks are from Unesco Collection - A Musical Anthology of the Orient, General Editor Alain Danielou for Musicaphon Records).
Track A8: This was written around a traditional Egyptian rhythm which is performed to fend off evil spirits.
Track A10: Based on an improvisation by Shankar and Peter Gabriel.
Track A11: The Ney Flute is playing a traditional Armenian melody.
Track B2: Based on an improvisation by Mahmoud and Peter Gabriel.

℗ 1989 Virgin Records Ltd.
© 1989 Real World/Virgin Records Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 012981 212346

Other Versions (5 of 83) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
RWCD1, 353 539-222 Peter Gabriel Passion(CD, Album) Real World Records, Real World Records RWCD1, 353 539-222 Europe 1989 Sell This Version
100 Peter Gabriel Passion(21xFile, FLAC) Society of Sound Music 100 UK 2016
RWCD1, RWLCD1, 0777 7 86371 2 7 Peter Gabriel Passion(CD, Album, Unofficial) Real World Records (4), Real World Records (4), Virgin (2) RWCD1, RWLCD1, 0777 7 86371 2 7 Russia 2011 Sell This Version
RWCD1, 0777 7 86371 2 7 Peter Gabriel Passion(CD, Album, RE) Real World Records, Real World Records RWCD1, 0777 7 86371 2 7 Europe 1992 Sell This Version
GEFSD 24206 Peter Gabriel Passion - Music For The Last Temptation Of Christ(CD, Album, RE) Geffen Records GEFSD 24206 Canada Unknown Sell This Version