Peter Schilling ‎– Error In The System

Hot Shot Records (7) ‎– WHSR015
CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered


1 Only Dreams 3:23
2 Lifetime Guarantee 6:45
3 The Noah Plan 4:18
4 Error In The System 3:33
5 Major Tom (Coming Home) 4:59
6 Major Tom, Part 2 3:42
7 Let's Play (U.S.A.) 3:16
8 I Have No Desire 3:29
9 Stille Nacht, Heilige Nacht (Silent Night, Holy Night) 3:29
Bonus Tracks
10 Major Tom (Coming Home) (12" Special Extended Version) 8:06
11 Die Wüste Lebt (12" Remix) 4:27
12 Fehler Im System 3:27
13 Fast Alles Konstruiert 6:45
14 ...Dann Trügt Der Schein 3:23
15 Ich Hab' Keine Lust 3:30
16 U.S.A. 3:19
17 Major Tom (Völlig Losgelost) 4:58
18 Major Tom (Coming Home) (Special Instrumental Version) 4:47

Companies, etc.


Track 11 (Die Wüste Lebt 12" Remix) has been taken from Vinyl

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 013929 241527
  • Matrix / Runout: 00095 53969 01 + 53969350

Other Versions (5 of 21) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
24 021 31, 24 02131 Peter Schilling Error In The System(LP, Album) WEA, WEA 24 021 31, 24 02131 Canada 1983 Sell This Version
240-213-4 Peter Schilling Error In The System(Cass, Album) WEA 240-213-4 Germany 1983 Sell This Version
L.P.-91026, 240213-1 Peter Schilling Error In The System(LP, Album) WEA, WEA L.P.-91026, 240213-1 Ecuador 1983 Sell This Version
24 0213-1 Peter Schilling Error In The System(LP, Album) WEA 24 0213-1 Italy 1983 Sell This Version
28.089 Peter Schilling Error In The System(LP, Album) WEA 28.089 Brazil 1983 Sell This Version



Add Review



October 17, 2016
edited about 1 year ago

The album is a great piece of work. Pet Shop Boys meet David Bowie via Kraftwerk... If you like 'Major Tom' you'll love this album, as in the English version you have two tracks proceeding it which are a build up to that track, with themes both set in space and perhaps giving a reason as to why Major Tom ends up 'floating in a tin can'.

Later on, this release messes the order on the German version of the album, but does include two 12" mixes of the albums two singles.

If you are going to muddle up an albums running order (only on the German album that is), then you might as well have put the English language 12" of 'Major Tom' with the rest of the English language version of the album, and stuck 'Stille Nacht Heilige Nacht' at the end of the German album.

It's a pity this isn't a double CD, and both albums were left intact, with perhaps the doublers (Major Tom II (an instrumental) & Stille Nacht Heilige Nacht left off the English Version if need be).

Missing are the English & German 'edited' versions of 'Major Tom' at around 4.00 minutes each (with uniquely one German phrase 'Vollig Losgelost' in the English 'edited' version at the end of that particular mix), also as well as those the German B-Side to the original 'Major Tom' German 12" & CD single ( '.. dann trügt der Schein') would have been great additions to this release and the album version of 'Die Wüste Lebt' would have been best left in situ rather than being replaced with the 12". The instrumental version of 'Major Tom' should have been a casuality if a one disc version is only possible replaced with any of the above.

Nice short booklet with some 7" & 12" artwork but unfortunately no lyrics. Still highly recommend this album as every song has musical merit, if you are a fan of 'eighties' music that is, (although 'Silent Night' seems strangely out of place).