Phosphorus ‎– Pillar Of Salt

SSR Records ‎– SSR 204, Crammed ‎– 3037442
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 New Blues 3:11
2 Dreams Aside
Guitar – Mike Cooper
3 In Retrospect
Guest, Bass – MartufoGuest, Scratches – DJ Zaul
4 Inspiring Light
Guest, Trumpet – Christopher (69)
5 Laid Low 3:15
6 Forgettable
Guest, Bass – MartufoGuest, Guitar – Michele (53)
7 Aorurum
Guest, Bass – MartufoGuest, Guitar – Mike CooperGuest, Saxophone [Saz] – Mauro Longoni
8 Days Like These 3:15
9 Asthma
Guest, Bass – Martufo
10 Lot's More 3:31
11 Unexpected 4:28
12 End Of An Era 4:18
13 Surrender 5:22

Companies, etc.



Keir Fraser is/was also a member of 9 Lazy 9.

Released in a clear tray jewel case with 4 page booklet.

SSR is a division of Crammed Discs.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 410377 000469
  • Barcode (String): 5140377000469
  • Label Code: LC8689
  • Matrix / Runout: DADC A0100262194-0101 13 A0
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L553
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 94V8
  • Rights Society: SABAM/BIEM Gema
  • Price Code: WAG 326

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
QTCY-73001 Phosphorus Pillar Of Salt(CD, Album) Quattro QTCY-73001 Japan 2000 Sell This Version



Add Review



April 26, 2013
edited over 5 years ago

Phosphorus, a side project of Kier Fraser (better known as one-half of Ninja Tune's 9 Lazy 9), only put out one album, PILLAR OF SALT, but the combination of trip-hop beats and angular jazz was enough to leave an impression. The mystery of "New Blues" merges with grand horns, while "Dreams Aside" is a twisty torch song. The breathy "In Retrospect" sits atop some quiet breaks, and "Inspiring Light" channels an easy-listening vibe for its seductive sweep. "Asthma" throbs a little more, while "Lot's More" pulls some Arabic rhythms into the mix, and, at the end, "Surrender" dives into celestial bliss (with horns, strings and double bass). And though, Emma Stow and Debbie Harris split vocal duties on most of the tracks, when they come together on "Forgettable," it rockets that track, with its steady thump and bassline to ground the strings, right into the stratosphere. A good, forgotten album, worth turning your head to look back upon (the fate of Lot's wife notwithstanding).