Polar Sleep ‎– Spark

Land Animal Tapes ‎– AAĀ016
Cassette, Album, Stereo


1 Sights to Sea 3:42
2 Melody 3:24
3 The Answer 3:41
4 Haunting 3:48
5 Empty 3:52
6 Spark 3:26
7 Talking in Circles 4:07
8 Room to Breathe 3:46
9 Jump Start 3:35
10 Look Overhead 2:46



Polar Sleep is the musical incarnation of frontman Jared Palick (guitar/ vocals) and his wife Brittney (piano/vocals). They moved to Portland, Oregon, to open a commercial recording studio that has now become home to multiple Grammy award-winning engineers. There they met up with long-time friends and musicians Mike Horey (bass) and Tony Reed (drums). Having a great rapport musically and personally, they decided to put the recording studio to good use, and record their first full-length album entitled Spark. At the time of release, their single “The Answer” was featured in the top 50 of NPR's Tiny Desk Concert Contest, and “Spark” was featured on 94.7 FM Alternative Portland.

The soundscapes of Polar Sleep are dreamy and ethereal, while remaining grounded and current. Jared's emotional delivery syncs with Brittney’s classically trained piano riffs to create hum-worthy melodies and hooks, while soft synths and emo-esque delayed guitars join driving drum and bass, all resulting in a unique take on pop appealing to listeners of almost any genre.

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
AAĀ016 Polar Sleep Spark(File, MP3, Album) Land Animal Tapes AAĀ016 US 2012