Portishead ‎– Dummy

Go! Beat ‎– 828 522-1
Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, 180g

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Mysterons
Theremin [Thereman] – Adrian Utley
A2 Sour Times
Electric Piano [Rhodes], Organ [Hammond] – Neil SolmanWritten-By – H Brooks*, L Schifrin*, O Turner*
A3 Strangers
Written-By – W Shorter*
A4 It Could Be Sweet
Drum Programming – Richard Newell (3)
A5 Wandering Star
Drums – Geoff BarrowOrgan [Hammond] – Gary BaldwinWritten-By – M Dickerson*, C W Miller*, H R Brown*, H Scott*, J Goldstein*, L Oskar*, L Jordan*, S Allen*
B1 Numb
Organ [Hammond] – Gary Baldwin
B2 Roads
Arranged By [Strings Arrangement] – Adrian Utley, Geoff BarrowElectric Piano [Rhodes] – Neil SolmanNose Flute – Dave Mc Donald*Strings – Adrian Utley, Strings Unlimited
B3 Pedestal
Trumpet – Andy Hague
B4 Biscuit
Written-By – J Ray*
B5 Glory Box
Organ [Hammond] – Adrian UtleyWritten-By – I Hayes*

Companies, etc.



Vinyl contained in full-color gloss varnish liner with track credits.

Quotation marks around "Dummy" on label are identical to each other and NOT of the COMPLIMENTARY, '66' '99' variety
Spine reads PORTISHEAD DUMMY 828 522 - 1 GO!! BEAT [not GO! BEAT]
The inner sleeve is thin paper and has no thumb cut-out on the opening at the back

The credits for 'Biscuit' include a spelling error of 'Johnnie Ray'; it reads 'Jhonnie Ray'

All tracks recorded at State of Art and Coach House Studios, Bristol, with additional mixing at Moles Studio, Bath.

Track A2 contains samples from "Danube Incident" written & performed by Lalo Schifrin and a percussion sample from "Spin-It Jig" written by Henry Brooks and Otis Turner performed by Smokey Brooks
Track A3 contains samples from "Elegant People" written & performed by Weather Report
Track A5 contains samples from "Magic Mountain" written & performed by Eric Burdon & War
Track B4 contains samples from "I'll Never Fall In Love Again" written & performed by Johnnie Ray
Track B5 contains samples from "Ike's Rap III" written & performed by Isaac Hayes

©1994 Go! Discs Limited.
℗1994 Go! Discs Limited.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 42282 85221 2
  • Label Code: LC 07192
  • Price Code: BA 281
  • Rights Society: BIEM / MCPS
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped): 828522-1-A2 -2348-
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, hand-etched): RC
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped): 828522-1-B2 -2348-
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, hand-etched): RC

Other Versions (5 of 104) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
828 553 - 2, 828 553-2, 422-828 553-2 Portishead Dummy(CD, Album) Go! Beat, Go! Beat, Go! Beat, London Records 828 553 - 2, 828 553-2, 422-828 553-2 Europe 1994 Sell This Version
422-828 553-2 Portishead Dummy(CD, Album, RE) Universal, London Records, Go! Beat, Go! Discs 422-828 553-2 Colombia Unknown Sell This Version
828 553-2 Portishead Dummy(CD, Album) Go! Beat, Polydor 828 553-2 Australasia 1994 Sell This Version
828 522-1 Portishead Dummy(LP, Album, M/Print, Fir) Go! Beat 828 522-1 UK & Europe 1994 Sell This Version
828 522-4 Portishead Dummy(Cass, Album) Go! Beat 828 522-4 UK & Europe 1994 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 6 Reviews

Add Review



December 11, 2017
Is there any way to confirm the year of this pressing?

I thought about asking the label, but they are no longer doing business.


June 24, 2017
Agree with KnightDG. It's a alternate pressing from 2007. The 2014 version was an anniversary edition with the sleeve used as the interior artwork of the gatefold cover.


June 7, 2017

So I just got this from Amazon Germany, it was sealed/brand new? Having a hard time believing they had a brand new, sealed copy from '94 but all the numbers/runouts match.