Pressure Of Speech ‎– Our Common Past, Our Common Future

North South ‎– POS 200 CD
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Back Fed 6:22
2 Tippex Reality 6:15
3 1st Hand 6:58
4 The Kelpie Domain 4:49
5 Uluru 4:36
6 Crow Road
Guitar – Paul Hellewell
7 Mothman 6:57
8 Window Pain 5:47
9 Madam Moth 6:30
10 Emile 7:12


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



October 26, 2016
I really changed my opinion of this because at first it was underwhelming, much more textural and experimental than their debut which featured a good number of more orthodox 'techno' tracks, albeit strange and quite post-punky. This contains fewer overtly beat driven tracks and focuses more on atmosphere, although that's not to understate the function of rhythm to it. Percussion has evolved and grown more subtle, complementing the moody sampling and with more detailed synth sounds. 'Art of The State' contained some clean, almost 'ambient' synth leads and melodies whereas 'Our Common...' works with dirtier sounds, layers and industrial noises without ever seeming heavy. I bought the (excellent) remix album and it really highlighted some of the more nuanced tracks which lead to a much greater appreciation of the originals. A great album.


June 12, 2015
edited over 2 years ago
Great ambient techno album, and a grower. A lot good beats, industrial sounds, with occasionally sweet ambience, and dare I say ahead of its time. Mothmath was remixed by the HIA to some acclaim, although only the original and self remixes are featured here. The album flows well together and I imagine it would be great to hear loud on a decent surround sound system. Very addictive record.