Prime8 Pimpin ‎– Seinen Jigsaw

Step Pepper Records ‎– SP060
Cassette, Album, 320 kbps

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Flight 7:08
2 Ledge 3:43
3 Shinkansen 4:45
4 Traffic 5:55
5 Terrorist 4:48
6 Reprise
Written By – Darby Capitol
7 Nympho 6:20
8 Luck 6:19
9 Swan 3:05
10 Chase
Written By – Darby Capitol
11 Heights 2:31
12 Doctor 5:40
13 Jacket
Co-producer – Eduk8
14 Ghost 5:20



PRIME8 PIMPIN returns with this strikingly twisted cassette release of his latest full-length album—Seinen Jigsaw.

"The 14 tracks that span across this hour-long album sound like a madman’s attempt to flip and fit together every sample found on his computer while simultaneously stringing together a loose narrative of anime screams, cries and exclamations. While not necessarily a hip-hop record, Seinen Jigsaw’s groundwork pays homage to RZA’s signature beat-making style. The Wu-Tang mastermind is notorious for manually slicing up eerie samples, kicks and snares by hand, creating loops on his drum machine that weren’t perfect, but just felt right. But using this as merely a blueprint, Prime8 forges his own path by taking this technique to nearly a critical limit. He leaves behind the hip-hop genre’s supposed 'sine qua non' of repetition, favoring a spastic, ever-evolving writing style instead. Demented and completely untrustworthy, this record seems to have a multiple personality that will turn on you within a measure, then flip back again almost as if it didn’t notice." —Slomile Swift, 2015