Prince ‎– Controversy

Warner Bros. Records ‎– 3601-2, Warner Bros. Records ‎– 256 950
CD, Album, Target, Grey/Red

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Controversy 7:14
2 Sexuality 4:20
3 Do Me, Baby 7:47
4 Private Joy 4:25
5 Ronnie, Talk To Russia 1:48
6 Let's Work 3:57
7 Annie Christian 4:21
8 Jack U Off
Keyboards – Lisa*, Fink*



Early German release with the 'Target' (bullseye) design on the disc.

The color scheme is grey background with red target and black lettering - the back of the disc has no text in the mould and on the tray insert the manufacturing info along the bottom and the label code are absent.

Made in West Germany

The catalog number '3601-2 (256 950)' appear on spines, booklet, inner back tray insert and the disc

Not to be confused with
Controversy (disc made by PDO and the back tray insert has the label code 'LC 0392' and manufacturing info printed)
Prince - Controversy ('Made in West Germany by Polygram' is present on the disc)

Originally released on vinyl in 1981 - there is no updated copyright date on the packaging.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: none
  • Label Code: none
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Matrix / Runout: 7599 03601-2 2893 265 02

Other Versions (5 of 74) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
BSK 3601 Prince Controversy(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records BSK 3601 US 1981 Sell This Version
38XP-48 Prince Controversy(CD, Album, Tar) Warner Bros. Records 38XP-48 Japan Unknown Sell This Version
WB 56 950, WB K 56 950, BSK 3601 Prince Controversy(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records WB 56 950, WB K 56 950, BSK 3601 France 1981 Sell This Version
M5 3601 Prince Controversy(Cass, Album, RE) Warner Bros. Records M5 3601 US Unknown Sell This Version
7599-23601-2 Prince Controversy(CD, Album, RE, RP) Warner Bros. Records 7599-23601-2 UK & Europe Unknown Sell This Version