Private Eye (5) ‎– Highlights From Private Eye's Legendary Comedy Recordings

The Guardian ‎– none
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 The Printed Word In Spoke
2 Today In Parliament
3 Country Seat
4 We Are Now Entering Europe …
5 David Frost Interviews Peter Ustinov
6 John Betjeman On The Silver Anniversary Of "Phil And Liz"
7 Chunder In The Old Pacific Sea
8 John Peel Meets John And Yoko
9 Grocer Heath's Dream
10 Vox Pop On The Common Market
11 Royal Interview
12 André Previn Interviews Harold Wilson
13 The Trout By I Musicci De Neasden
Adapted By – John Wells (2)Composed By – Franz SchubertEnsemble – The Alberts
14 A Partly Satirical Broadcast
15 Anthony Blunt And The Queen
16 Lift Up Your Parts!
17 Manic Radio Presenters
18 Robert Maxwell, Ted Kennedy And Richard Nixon Soap Ad
19 Conservation Corner
20 Mrs Thatcher's Christmas Gifts Policy
21 Churchill At The BBC
Script By – Peter Cook, Willie Rushton*
22 Harold Wislon (sic) Christmas Message
23 One-Eyed Trouser Snake
24 Police Announcement
Concept By [Inspector Knacker Of The Yard] – Richard Ingrams, Willie Rushton*
25 Weather Forecast
26 Mary Quant '69
27 Spiggy Topes Meets Eamonn Andrews
28 Psychedelic Baby
29 Baillie Vass Speaks!
30 David Frost And The Pope
31 Special Announcements
32 The Pope On The Pill
33 A Really Swinging Christmas And A Gear New Year
34 Neasden
Written-By – Willie Rushton*

Companies, etc.



Starring Pete & Dud and friends

the grauniad [sic]

WARNING Contains explicit language and adult material not suitable for children

To celebrate 50 years of Private Eye, the Guardian presents this compilation of highlights from the Private Eye comedy archives.

These recordings, many of which were originally released with special issues of Private Eye, were written and performed between 1962 and 1980 by Private Eye staff, associates and friends.

This CD contains 34 specially selected tracks featuring:
Peter Cook · Dudley Moore · Barry Humphries
John Bird · Eleanor Bron · John Wells
Willie Rushton · Barry Fantoni · Richard Ingrams
Pamela Stephenson and more

℗ & © Springtime & under license from Pressdram Ltd.

(Issued free with the Guardian newspaper on 5 November 2011)

NB. The individual tracks are not listed on the cover - Track listing (and some credits) taken from