Puerto Rican Power ‎– La Pura Naturaleza De La Salsa

Melon Records (2) ‎– MEL-LPE-0019
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Las Elecciones
Written By – D.A.R.
A2 En la Oscuridad
Written By – J. González
A3 Quisiera
Written By – L.C. Ayala
A4 Guajira Del Monte
Written By – G. Díaz
B1 El Chino Cham-Pu
Written By – D.A.R.
B2 Medley
Written By – T. Henriquez
B3 Congo Eh
Written By – G. Diáz
B4 Mi Corazon
Written By – T. Sánchez

Companies, etc.



Review by Jose A. Estevez, Jr.

The band's third recorded effort is still light years ahead of the polished sound that they would gain through time and experience. It is mainly an exercise of opportunity, as well as trumpet player Luisito Ayala's first outing as a bandleader. The repertoire is quite unpretentious, but it is still fun to listen to. Regardless of how dated the band might sound, tunes like "Las Elecciones," "En la Oscuridad," and "Guajira del Monte" are diverting samples of a band in their embryonic stage. Vocals by Pedro Sanz.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: MELON-0019-A masterRecords
  • Matrix / Runout: MELON-0019-B masterRecords

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



September 16, 2015
This is the debut LP of the NEW Puerto Rican Power under the leadership of Luisito Ayala. The original leader Jesús "Chuy" Castro desolved the orquesta to continue his education in medicine at the University of Medicine in Puerto Rico. The rest is history.


June 23, 2015

What a great album! A well deserved 5-star rating fro me! This album is full of energy from one track after another! Mi Corazon will make your feet moving and grooving even if you're sitting down! A must have for any salsa vinyl DJ out there!! Highly recommended.