Purgatory (4) ‎– Dr. Pain

J.U.F. Records ‎– none
Cassette, EP, Limited Edition, Promo


A1 Dr. Pain
A2 Mist Of Dawn
A3 Prayer For The Dead (The Final Vision)
B1 Dr. Pain
B2 Mist Of Dawn
B3 Prayer For The Dead (The Final Vision)


All music by Purgatory.
Dedicated to the memory of Dave Holocaust, Jeff Kincaid, and Al Klohs.

Released at a Purgatory headlining show at the Phantasy Theater (with opening acts were Don Foose's live debut with The Spudmonsters and Seductive Blasphemy), on November 21, 1989. This version, the first 100 copies (advance copies with black & white cover and different inlay) sold out that night, before the full-color version with full inlay became available in several local music stores in the following weeks. Promoted by the band as an EP (not a demo, as it has become known online), with full 24-track production. A promotional press pack also exists with a glossy band photo and 3 pages of "Dr. Pain" lyric sheets (each song on their own page).

"Dr. Pain" and "Prayer For The Dead (The Final Vision) are remakes "Dark Alley Surgery"-era songs originally performed with Jeff Hatrix on vocals between 87 and 89. After Andy Boyer's 1989 recruitment some "Dark Alley Surgery"-era songs were given new lyrics and titles, restructured vocal melodies by Boyer, and minor instrumental/structural changes by the band. "Prayer For The Dead (The Final Vision)" is a remake of "Purgatory (The Final Vision)", and "Dr. Pain" is a remake of "TV Thieves".

Recording information:
Recorded and mixed at Modern Recording Studios, Cleveland, Ohio, in September of 1989.
Co-mixed, co-produced and assistant co-engineered by Purgatory.

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All