Quantic ‎– An Announcement To Answer

Tru Thoughts ‎– TRULP100
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Absence Heard, Presence Felt 3:07
A2 An Announcement To Answer
Guitar – Will Holland
B1 Blow Your Horn
Flute – David RalickeRap [Featuring] – Ohmega WattsTrumpet – Todd Simon
B2 Bomb In A Trumpet Factory 2:44
C1 Politick Society
Banjo – Terry HollandDouble Bass, Accordion – Will HollandVocals – Destani WolfVocals [Featuring] – Noelle Scaggs
C2 Meet Me At The Pomegranate Tree
Guitar, Bass – Will HollandVibraphone – Corey MwambaViolin – Mike Simmonds
D1 Sabor
Bass – Polito Hurtas*Guitar – Will HollandSaxophone – George CruzTrumpet – Javier RiveraVocals [Featuring] – Hector Tempo' Alomar*
D2 Ticket To Know Where
Guitar, Bass – Will HollandRap [Featuring] – Ohmega WattsSaxophone – Hector SotomayorTrumpet – Javier RiveraViolin – Mike SimmondsVocals – Milton Campbell
D3 Tell It Like You Mean It 4:51

Companies, etc.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5060006325311

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
TRUCD100 Quantic An Announcement To Answer(CD, Album) Tru Thoughts TRUCD100 UK 2006 Sell This Version
LMNK17 Quantic An Announcement To Answer(CD, Album) Lovemonk LMNK17 Spain 2006 Sell This Version
URLP197 Quantic An Announcement To Answer(2xLP, Album) Ubiquity URLP197 US 2006 Sell This Version
URCD197 Quantic An Announcement To Answer(CD, Album) Ubiquity URCD197 US 2006 Sell This Version



Add Review



August 3, 2010

Written and recorded on a laptop during an extended period of international gigging and crate-digging, ‘An Announcement To Answer’ bookmarks an important step in the evolution of Quantic’s sound.

Inspired and educated (as opposed to influenced) by the records he discovered whilst travelling and working in Puerto Rico, Nigeria, Benin, Ghana and Ethiopia, Will Holland fused the traditional sounds of these countries with hip hop, soul, funk and jazz to produce his own potent musical brew.

Experimenting with new techniques and collaborating with the talented people he met in Puerto Rico and at the Candela studios in San Juan, Will successfully broadened his musical palette whilst still delivering the same sophisticated beat-making that has made him a sure-fire floor-filler for DJs worldwide.

Guest artists on the album include Noelle Scaggs from The Rebirth, Ohmega Watts and Puerto Rican percussionist Tempo, who has previously worked with Roberto Roena of the legendary Fania All Stars.

In December 2006, ‘An Announcement To Answer’ was shortlisted for Album Of The Year in the Gilles Peterson Worldwide Awards