R.E.M. ‎– Monster

Craft Recordings ‎– CR00239
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered, 180g, 25th Anniversary Expanded Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 What's The Frequency, Kenneth?
A2 Crush With Eyeliner
Performer [Additional Players] – Thurston Moore
A3 King Of Comedy
Performer [Additional Players] – Sally Dworski*
A4 I Don't Sleep, I Dream
A5 Star 69
A6 Strange Currencies
B1 Tongue
B2 Bang And Blame
Performer [Additional Players] – Ané*, Lou*, Lynda*, Rain*, Sally Dworski*
B3 I Took Your Name
B4 Let Me In
B5 Circus Envy
B6 You
Monster Remixed
C1 What's The Frequency, Kenneth? (Remix)
C2 Crush With Eyeliner (Remix)
C3 King Of Comedy (Remix)
C4 I Don't Sleep, I Dream (Remix)
C5 Star 69 (Remix)
C6 Strange Currencies (Remix)
D1 Tongue (Remix)
D2 Bang And Blame (Remix)
D3 I Took Your Name (Remix)
D4 Let Me In (Remix)
D5 Circus Envy (Remix)
D6 You (Remix)

Companies, etc.



Packaged in a gatefold sleeve.
Each LP comes in a custom inner sleeve.

℗ & © 2019 R.E.M. / Athens L.L.C. under exclusive license to Craft Recordings, a division of Concord Music Group, Inc., 5750 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90036.
Made in U.S.A.

Ocean Way Recording, Los Angeles, California
Criteria Recording Studios, Miami, Florida
Crossover Soundstage, Atlanta, Georgia
Kingsway Studio, New Orleans, Louisiana

Louie's Clubhouse
Ocean Way Recording, Los Angeles, California

The bear image © TBC 1991, courtesy of the Tilly Balloon Company.

All songs [...] © 1994 Night Garden Music administered in all that is known as our world by Universal Music Publishing Group (SESAC).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 888072111493
  • Barcode (Printed): 8 88072 11149 3
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout): CR00239-A JN-H STERLING 33854.1(3)...
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout): CR00239-B JN-H STERLING 33854.2(3)...
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C runout): CR00239-C RE1 JN-H STERLING 34048.3(3)...
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D runout): CR00239-D JN-H STERLING 33854.4(3)...
  • Rights Society: SESAC

Other Versions (5 of 83) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
9 45740-2 R.E.M. Monster(CD, Album) Warner Bros. Records 9 45740-2 US 1994 Sell This Version
9 45740-2 R.E.M. Monster(CD, Album, RP, SRC) Warner Bros. Records 9 45740-2 US Unknown Sell This Version
4-45740, 9 45740-4 R.E.M. Monster(Cass, Album) Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records 4-45740, 9 45740-4 Indonesia 1994 Sell This Version
WPCR-101 R.E.M. Monster(CD, Album, Promo) Warner Music Japan Inc. WPCR-101 Japan 1994 Sell This Version
9362-45763-2 R.E.M. Monster(CD, Album, Ltd) Warner Bros. Records 9362-45763-2 UK & Europe 1994 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 10 Reviews

Add Review



November 4, 2019

They did a great job on the remaster, the remix isn't bad, but for those who were listening to these songs from release date you may not like it as much. Yes, they definitely pushed Stipes vocals forward. My copies were perfectly quiet in all aspects, although there were some paper sleeve scuffs on the remix album. Overall I'm enjoying it, if your a purist, pick up the single album remaster ;)


November 3, 2019
is this AAA?
words words words words words words words


November 2, 2019
edited 11 days ago

The original mix (first LP) sounds terrific but had some significant scratches right out of the sleeve. The second LP was cleaner but I’m NOT a fan of the remix. It sounds like an unfinished demo. It also has a really loud hiss or noise floor throughout. Wishing I’d opted for the single LP version that also features the original orange sleeve art. REM fans who didn’t like Monster when it was originally released will probably love the remix version since Stipe’s vocals are more prominent and it sounds more like “traditional” REM. I, for one, care less for it. Much, much less. Hope this helps anybody on the fence about which version to get.

UPDATE: a second spin of the first LP revealed a LOT of noise between tracks. It could be static or paper bits from the cheap paper inner sleeves, I’m not sure. I ordered a replacement copy and am hoping for better luck next time.