Radish ‎– Hello



A1 Space Boy
A2 Hello
A3 Wooden Window
A4 Leave
A5 Kitty
B1 You Can Run
B2 Whatcha' Gonna Do?
B3 Roller Coaster
B4 I Want You To
B5 The Way



When Ben Kweller was 12 years-old he formed the band Radish. Radish was a trio that included Kweller on guitar, John David Kent on Drums, and Ryan Green on bass. After the group played a few gigs around the Dallas area, Kweller, decided it was time to take the group into the studio. He tracked down a local recording engineer in Dallas, by the name of Martin Baird. The boys loaded their instruments into their parent's cars and did the one-hour drive to Martin's studio, for 3 weekends in a row. Originally, the sessions were broken up in to two, 5-song EP's but eventually were combined to create the album Hello. Hello was sold at concerts and there's a very scarce amount of copies in circulation today. Hello is a special album because it mark's these musician's very first studio recordings. Hello gives listeners a peak at Ben Kweller's gift for writing memorable and sophisticated music even as a youngster. The recordings certainly have a dated sound and the instrumentation is reminiscent of early-nineties pre-grunge pop. What's so enjoyable about these recordings is the exuberance that you hear in Kweller's voice as he sings his very own songs with his schoolmates, Kent and Green, at his side.