Ramones ‎– Subterranean Jungle

Sire ‎– 1-23800, Sire ‎– 9 23800-1
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Little Bit O' Soul
Written-By – Carter*, Lewis*
A2 I Need Your Love
Written-By – Bobby Dee Waxman
A3 Outsider
Written-By – Dee Dee Ramone
A4 What'd Ya Do?
Written-By – Joe Ramone*
A5 Highest Trails Above
Written-By – Dee Dee Ramone
A6 Somebody Like Me
Written-By – Dee Dee Ramone
B1 Psycho Therapy
Written-By – Dee Dee Ramone, Johnny Ramone
B2 Time Has Come Today
Written-By – Joseph Chambers, Willie Chambers
B3 My-My Kind Of A Girl
Written-By – Joe Ramone*
B4 In The Park
Written-By – Dee Dee Ramone
B5 Time Bomb
Written-By – Dee Dee Ramone
B6 Everytime I Eat Vegetables It Makes Me Think Of You
Written-By – Joe Ramone*

Companies, etc.



Recorded at Kingdom Sound, Syosset, Long Island.
Comes with printed inner sleeve.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 7599-23800-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A [Stamped with Allied Record Co. "a"]): 1-23800 A-SH2 a
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A [Etched]): B-17613-SH2 SLM Δ3405 1_1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B [Stamped with Allied Record Co. "a"]): 1-23800 B-SH1 a
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B [Etched]): B-17614-SH1 SLM Δ 3405-X 1-1
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 33) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
WPCR-1812 Ramones Subterranean Jungle(CD, Album, RE) Sire WPCR-1812 Japan 1998 Sell This Version
92. 3800-1 Ramones Subterranean Jungle(LP, Album) Sire 92. 3800-1 France 1983 Sell This Version
9 23800-2 Ramones Subterranean Jungle(CD, Album, RE) Sire 9 23800-2 US 1994 Sell This Version
WPCR-80326 Ramones Subterranean Jungle(CD, Album, RE, RM) Sire, Warner Bros. Records, Rhino Records (2) WPCR-80326 Japan 2016 Sell This Version
W3800 Ramones Subterranean Jungle(LP, Album) Sire W3800 Ireland 1983 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



October 22, 2012
The Ramones had a tough early '80s. During punk rocks superseding into new wave, they tried to keep up while totally changing their original hard and fast sound. But after witnessing their voluptuous experiment with 1980's End of the Century go a-rye, the Ramones had trouble trying to finding their place.

Subterranean Jungle, thankfully, is great. The guitar sound on is matchlessly, poppily layered and aggressive, and Dee Dee's bass stands out almost as much as it did on Ramones. The drums are overblown; the snare is so strained, you might start to believe that Marky is playing with paint brushes. Producers Glen Kolotkin and Ritchie Cordell tried to capture their late '60s bubblegum heyday, with the drum signatures, jingle and Joey's always lovable croon. It works, but doesn't quite fit into the Punk genre.

This is still a great album, song to song, although "Time Bomb" hits a low point with questionable lyrics and "I Need Your Love" is a sleeper. The best of the album can be heard during the two '60s covers, "Little Bit O' Soul" and "Time Has Come Today." Even after that sequence, there are still classics like "My-My Kind of a Girl" and "Everytime I Eat Vegetables It Makes Me Think of You," which show that the Ramones could still joke light-heartedly about Thorazine and shock treatment. Even the cover of the foursome on a heavily-graffitied subway train shows the combination of humor and darkness that makes "Jungle" what it is.

This is a very good album, containing some of the most straight-up hard rocking the Ramones have ever recorded. The fans are the ones who got it wrong.