Raven (3) ‎– F.M.

No Colours Records ‎– NC 015
CD, Mini-Album, Limited Edition


1 Part I 4:11
2 Part II 3:22
3 Part III 3:41
4 Part IV 5:15


Limited to 1000 copies

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 71105* NC 015 *1
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI LA11
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 2W00
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): 71105* NC 015 *1
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI LA11
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): ifpi 2W12
  • Rights Society: STEMRA



Add Review



December 26, 2016

I don't think this release was intended as a serious piece of work from an active band. That's how it essentially sounds, as if they got together and recorded one of their practice sessions and now posthumously it has been released.

These songs have Rune of Forgotten Woods playing bass and quite possibly vocals, although the vocals sound as if they're played from a much deeper voice than his. The songs on this ep are very much in the Forgotten Woods vein. Rune's influence is seen through most of the rhythms on all of the songs, especially the first. The only thing much different from Forgotten Woods is the deeper, much worse vocals and the occasional weird guitar riff.

These songs were definitely not purposely recorded shitty or low like a good Basilisk record. That's what really sets this apart from black metal recorded purposely of a lower quality, that the songs were recorded half-assed on a 4 track or like equipment during a practice session. Rune's band Forgotten Woods music is very much depressive and organic sounding, and a fine quality recording only enhances the sort of sound and music Forgotten Woods produce while still feeling very depressive and raw. This is very much not on purpose and bad, but the songs continue to get worse. The first song has remnants of what could be a good riff, but by the third song I'm hardly even hearing the guitar track anymore.

At its best, Raven and this release is one of Forgotten Woods founding members having fun with a few unknown friends. These riffs and this music could potentiality give us something fun to look at and listen to, but all of Raven's releases have a sound quality poorer than an average demo release and all I'm even hearing is faded vocals and drums, which makes this release useless even if I can muster a few nice guitar sounds out of the barrel.