Red Hot Chili Peppers ‎– Californication

Warner Bros. Records ‎– 47386-1
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, 180g

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Around The World 3:58
A2 Parallel Universe 4:30
A3 Scar Tissue 3:37
A4 Otherside 4:16
B1 Get On Top 3:17
B2 Californication 5:21
B3 Easily 3:51
C1 Porcelain 2:44
C2 Emit Remmus 4:00
C3 I Like Dirt 2:38
C4 This Velvet Glove 3:45
D1 Savior 4:52
D2 Purple Stain 4:13
D3 Right On Time 1:52
D4 Road Trippin'
Organ [Chamberlin] – Patrick Warren

Companies, etc.



2012 reissue on 180 gram vinyl. Includes photo insert with lyrics.

Hype sticker reads: "Limited-Edition 180-Gram Vinyl 2-Disc Set"

Lyrics and credits sheet has the original 1999 layout and does not report any info about the remaster process.

Main differences from the original US release:
- Back cover has web addresses for both Warner Bros. and RHCP. 1999 pressing had two RHCP addresses.
- Barcode layout is different, on 1999 release all credentials are completely below the bars
- 2012 release has newer Warner Bros. logo on back cover
- Limited edition -sticker is bigger in 2012 release
- Different matrix inscriptions
- Manufactured in Germany on labels on 2012 release

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 93624 73861 9
  • Barcode (Scanned): 0093624738619
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): 1-531908-A² CB -25603- P.USA
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): 1-531908-B CB P.USA -25603-
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): 1-531908-C CB P.USA -25604-
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): 1-531908-D CB P.USA -25604-

Other Versions (5 of 96) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
9 47386-2 Red Hot Chili Peppers Californication(CD, Album) Warner Bros. Records 9 47386-2 US 1999 Sell This Version
2-47386 Red Hot Chili Peppers Californication(CDr, Album, Promo) Warner Bros. Records 2-47386 US 1999 Sell This Version
CHILI1CD Red Hot Chili Peppers Californication(CDr, Album, Promo, Smplr) Warner Bros. Records CHILI1CD UK 1999 Sell This Version
none Red Hot Chili Peppers Californication(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Maxi Records (2) none Russia 1999 Sell This Version
9362-47487-4 Red Hot Chili Peppers Californication(Cass, Album, Ltd, S/Edition) Warner Bros. Records 9362-47487-4 Malaysia 1999 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 21 Reviews

Add Review

July 2, 2018

It's uncanny how good it sounds compared to the other brickwalled releases


December 17, 2017
I can't believe how quiet this pressing is. It sounds great.


December 3, 2017

Found this out of luck recently, and used it to replace a German pressing that I'd had previously. The difference is night and day between this issue and the previous LP issues.


August 6, 2017
wow; yeah I 2nd Musicfreak98's comments:
Superb pressing; amazing dynamics and completely silent!


July 16, 2017

Superb pressing. Great sound, nice dynamics and my copy is totally silent.


August 27, 2016
Man.. .this sounds great. Much better than the cd. Get it!


March 10, 2016
If you want a good sounding release of this album, grab a copy.
Every other version can be thrown away without even looking back.


February 17, 2016
Hands down, this is THE best sounding version of Californication on vinyl. Make no mistake about it.


February 1, 2016
Why is this considered a limited copy? . . .


September 7, 2014
This remaster is WAY better than the CD and the previous vinyl editions. There are a few changes to the mix of a few of the songs that may put some people off, but after several spins I think I prefer these versions... what I wonder is if the band had any input into this, or if these were just mistakenly added during the remixing, or mistakenly removed during the original mixing and restored here?

I remember hearing a lot of these "added vocals" on the 'unmastered' version of Californication that leaked several years back, which also sounded better (less compressed) than the store-bought CD, had a completely different running order, and bonus tracks "Fat Dance" and "How Strong" included.

Anyway, here are the changes I've noticed from the 'original' CD and this newly remastered vinyl:

Californication - synth line added after intro like the version on "Greatest Hits."
Easily - extra "eeeeasily/aaaaahh" vocals towards the end that are present on 'unmastered' version.
Savior - extra "all in a hand" vocals that are present on 'unmastered' version.
Right On Time - Count in at start removed.