Red Lorry Yellow Lorry ‎– The Singles 1982 - 87

Cherry Red ‎– CDMRED 109
CD, Compilation


1 Beating My Head 3:16
2 I'm Still Waiting 3:58
3 Take It All Away 2:50
4 Happy 3:40
5 He's Read 2:59
6 See The Fire 2:30
7 Monkey's On Juice 3:13
8 Push 3:03
9 Silence 2:29
10 Hollow Eyes 3:03
11 Feel A Piece 2:39
12 Chance 5:19
13 Generation 3:07
14 Spinning Round 2:50
15 Spinning Round (Crash Mix) 2:54
16 Hold Yourself Down 2:23
17 Walking On Your Hands 2:40
18 Which Side 2:05
19 Jipp (Instrumental Mix) 2:58
20 Cut Down 3:47
21 Running Fever 2:28
22 Pushed Me 2:18
23 Crawling Mantra 2:40
24 Hang Man 3:15
25 All The Same 2:55
26 Shout At The Sky 3:04

Companies, etc.



[On Sleeve:]
℗ & © 1994 Cherry Red Records Ltd.
Made in England. Distributed by Pinnacle.

[On label:]
This compilation ℗ & © 1994 Cherry Red Records Ltd.
All tracks published by Screaming Red Music.
Manufactured in France.

Tracks 1 to 2 are taken from Beating My Head / I'm Still Waiting, Red Rhino Records, 1982.
Tracks 3 to 4 are taken from Take It All, Red Rhino Records, 1983.
Tracks 5 to 6 are taken from He's Read, Red Rhino Records, 1983.
Tracks 7 to 9 are taken from Monkeys On Juice, Red Rhino Records, 1984.
Tracks 10 to 11 are taken from Hollow Eyes, Red Rhino Records, 1984.
Tracks 12 to 13 are taken from Chance, Red Rhino Records, 1985.
Tracks 14 to 16 are taken from Spinning Round, Red Rhino Records, 1985.
Tracks 17 to 19 are taken from Walking On Your Hands, Red Rhino Records, 1986.
Tracks 20 to 22 are taken from Cut Down, Red Rhino Records, 1986.
Tracks 23 to 26 are taken from Crawling Mantra, Red Rhino Records, 1987.

Track 26 is a Live version.
Track 15 is written "Hold Yourself Down" on release. Track 16 is written "Regenerate" on release. Track 21 is written "Burning Fever" on release.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 013929 110922
  • Barcode: 5013929110922
  • Matrix / Runout: MREDCD 109 MPO 01 @@

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



October 13, 2010

(Taken and reedited from my own original Amazon review)

The music on this CD is definitely worthy of purchasing but be very aware of the quality of the music when purchasing this CD.

It's very apparent that all of the tracks were recorded straight from vinyl, the quality of the vinyl varies greatly with some tracks much worse than others. The track Monkey On Juice was recorded while the record was being turned and you can get a good laugh at it "revving" up.

Another goof is that track 15 is listed as "Hold Yourself Down" but is actually called "Spinning Round (Crash Mix). "Hold Yourself Down" is actually track 16 but the title of that song is "Regenerate" which I have never heard of before and it doesn't seem to exist on any RLYL single that I've ever heard of.

My other gripe is about the constant skipping on quite a few of the songs at the end such as: Jipp (Instrumental), Cut Down, Burning Fever, Pushed Me, Crawling Mantra, Hang Man, All The Same and Shout At The Sky. That's every song from tracks 19-26. What a complete waste. It's possible that I might have a defective disc, but I highly doubt it considering all the other problems.

Another thing is that you are still missing 3 singles songs: "Russia" (on Hollow Eyes 12"), "Paint Your Wagon" and "More Jipp" (both on Paint Your Wagon 7"). Instead, you get a short version of "Hollow Eyes" and what sounds like the album versions of "Feel A Piece", "Walking On Your Hands" and "Which Side". These songs might have been on the singles, but why not include the other rare singles songs that haven't yet been released on CD.

I take that back, the album "Talk About The Weather" has just been re-released, complete of course with the full album and all of the singles that predate it including "Russia". Funny enough though, it has been noted by other reviewers on the internet that it has the same "mastering" complaints that seem evident on this and other Cherry Red releases (Anagram, which is the label this is released, I believe is a subsidiary of Cherry Red).

Also, be aware that there are 2 versions of "Beating My Head", the 7" and the version found on the "This Today" EP. You get the funky 7" version with the saxophone solo (which I quite like actually). The other version (minus the saxophone and a harder guitar sound) can be found on the best of compilation CD "Generation".

It's no wonder that this CD is now out of print as it should never have been released in such a degenerate form to begin with. It's a shame that companies like Cherry Red are even allowed to unscrupulously put out such shoddy quality products, but they do this on a very regular basis as they've made it a habit to purchase the rights to a lot of European bands that were on labels that went out of business and sold those rights. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem that they hardly ever (if at all) acquire the tape masters for any of these recordings. This is why they use vinyl as their recording source. Unfortunately they seem either completely ignorant or just plain lazy in the fact that you can actually remove a lot of vinyl imperfections using computers with decent enough audio editing software.

The only upside to buying this CD is that if you can get it for under $20, you are getting some hard to find and often semi-expensive singles for a moderate price. But just be aware that some of those more expensive vinyl singles might actually sound far superior to this CD!