Reinier Baas ‎– Smooth Jazz Apocalypse

Mainland Records ‎– LTMRM14
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Squalor
2 Orthodox
3 Ballad
4 Gregariuos
5 A World Within #16
6 Epilogue (For Helena Basilova)
Piano – Helena Basilova
7 Orthodox (Reprise)
8 Smooth Jazz Apocalypse


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 8 715777 008433


Add Review



May 19, 2015
With the necessary bravado and humor by storm the young guitarist Reinier Boss the Dutch jazz scene. His talent and diversity are not in question, he also his band find themselves the best dressed of Netherlands (the late Benjamin Herman but not hear). The second album he has released under his own name the contrasting Smooth Jazz title Apocalypse, but all in the opening track to be in earnest: Squalor it seems as if the group is a random number from the catalog of former smooth jazz supplier has provided an uncomfortable's rhythm with CTI Records boss as a solo turns George Benson from hell. Special about this album is that it decides no guitar plate is, saxophonists Ben van Gelder and Maarten Hamann and bass clarinet player Joris Roelofs play invariably proportional roles while Epilogue an atmospheric solo piece for piano with a guest role for classical pianist Helena Basilova. Talents are falling over each other, harmonize and dissonances and make especially fun with each other. That seems to be exactly what the current Dutch jazz scene so special and Smooth Jazz Apocalypse is an aptitude test.