Robert Fripp ‎– Exposure

EG ‎– EGLP 101
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Preface 1:15
A2 You Burn Me Up I'm A Cigarette 2:23
A3 Breathless 4:41
A4 Disengage 2:46
A5 North Star 3:06
A6 Chicago 2:12
A7 NY3 2:16
A8 Mary 2:06
B1 Exposure 4:25
B2 Häaden Two 2:53
B3 Urban Landscape 2:35
B4 I May Not Have Had Enough Of Me But I've Had Enough Of You 3:50
B5 First Inaugural Address To The I.A.C.E. Sherborne House 0:03
B6 Water Music I 1:27
B7 Here Comes The Flood 4:01
B8 Water Music II 4:16
B9 Postscript 0:39

Companies, etc.



Recorded mainly and mixed entirely at The Hit Factory, New York
between January 1978 and January 1979
Track for Exposure / Here Comes The Flood recorded at Relight Studios, November 1977
Track for Water Music II recorded at The House Of Music, New Jersey, July 1977

All songs copyright ©E.G. Music Ltd. 1978
except A1, A5, A5, A8 E.G. Music Ltd./Interworld Music
and A4 E.G. Music Ltd./Charisma /Chappell
and B1 E.G. Music Ltd./Cliofine/Hit & Run Music
and B7 Cliofine/Hit & Run Music

Some copies came with a free postcard (pictured).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Pressing Plant ID: ▽E
  • Matrix / Runout (runout, stamped side 1): EGLP101 A//2▼ EUSA 13
  • Matrix / Runout (runout, stamped side 2): EGLP101 B//4▼E AS 11
  • Matrix / Runout (runout, etched side 1): 1981 IS THE YEAR OF THE FRIPP
  • Matrix / Runout (runout, etched side 2): THE AIM IS FREEDOM CONSCIENCE AND TRUTH

Other Versions (5 of 58) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
VJD-5001 Robert Fripp Exposure(CD, Album, Promo, RE, RM) Virgin Japan, EG VJD-5001 Japan 1989 Sell This Version
EGCD 41 Robert Fripp Exposure(CD, Album, RE, RM, RP, JAX) EG EGCD 41 US 1994 Sell This Version
2302 092 Robert Fripp Exposure(LP, Album) EG, Polydor 2302 092 Germany 1979 Sell This Version
EGLP 41 Robert Fripp Exposure(LP, Album, RE, RM, Gat) EG EGLP 41 US 1985 Sell This Version
IECP-20001/2 Robert Fripp Exposure(CD, Album, RE + CD, Album + Ltd, RM, Car) WHD Entertainment, Inc. IECP-20001/2 Japan 2006 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



January 6, 2016

first original uk issue with a Robert FRIPP post card


April 1, 2005
edited over 15 years ago
Robert Fripp, mentor and responsible for bringing Thomas Fehlmann to the World of music is also a very good friend of Brian Eno - a person which he dedicated a very special thanks for teaching him the technology of Skysaw guitars - gave us an evident proof of his avant-garde spirit in this Long Play.
"Exposure" is a trip into the 'out of the ordinary' Rock, the Ambiental and the Experimental. It's amazing how the mood changes from track to track - some are emotional, like "North Star", and others have a more smooth-Jazzy touch with trippy synth timbres (like in "Chicago"); or even with a climax that reminds us a little of 4AD label (which seems to be the case of "NY3").
On the other side, "I May Not Have Had Enough Of Me But I've Had Enough Of You" is a combination of experimental with monotone frequencies. "Water Music II" is also clearly introspective, but more melodic, with very nice pianos and lines of synthesizers.
If you have the chance to listen to this one - or any other one made by the Master Fripp - I'm sure you're gonna be amazed.