Robert Hood ‎– Nighttime World Volume 2

M-Plant ‎– M-P319
3 × Vinyl, 12", Album


A1 Black Hollywood 0:30
A2 The Key To Midnight 5:17
A3 Stepping Out 4:55
B1 Desire 5:37
B2 After Hours 5:49
C1 Teflon 6:40
C2 Formula Galore 7:07
D1 Weight Of The World 5:06
D2 Still 7:08
E1 Untitled 6:02
E2 Darkroom 8:27
F1 Silent Hill 3:38
F2 Peace (Closing Theme) 4:42
F3 Blackness 4:25

Companies, etc.


  • Mastered ByMJR*


Mastered at Metropolis Mastering (Chicago, IL).
Runout etching:

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Etched): MMMJR

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
M-P318•CD Robert Hood Nighttime World Volume 2(CD, Album) M-Plant M-P318•CD US 2000 Sell This Version
MP319 Robert Hood Nighttime World Volume 2(3xLP, Promo, W/Lbl) M-Plant MP319 US 2000 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



June 10, 2017
This album should be listed under THE DEFINITION OF DETROIT TECHNO.


August 4, 2009

In fact, don't expect the typical minimal line, although do expect 'Detroit Techno'. Do expect that you will need to have re-defined and widened your view of what you regard as 'techno' perhaps many years ago. I have the idea that most people who are aware of the typical Robert Hood record, would most likely be surprised that 14 years ago, he released an LP which mostly contained lush downtempo melodic pieces. And yes, I am correct in stating that he released such a record 14 years ago. I was not referring just to Nighttime World Volume 2. Nighttime World Volume One was released in 1995. Both that and this really ought to be seen as a pair. Actually I believe ideally, the pair ought to be taken as one very long LP. Both contain tightly composed but smooth electronic mood enhancers, each with a quirky edge or two: a hint of in your face compression there, a deliberately faux saxophone patch there. Volume 2, like volume 1, has a few more recognizably Hood-like techno tracks. Despite that, mostly, it's about the chilled, slightly melancholy, surprisingly elaborate - surprising that is, if you think Robert Hood is just about minimal techno - hip-hop and IDM flavored tracks.


April 30, 2002

The first part was released on Cheap Records in Vienna. Both releases have Robert's typical minimal line through almost all tracks in it, I think that's all what we as detroit-lovers really want. Not really electro, TECHNO from the place where minimal techno was born.