Rockport ‎– Born To Be Free

New Blood ‎– 4177
Vinyl, LP


A1 Born To Be Free 2:20
A2 Soundshaker 4:25
A3 Rockport 3:40
A4 Fly High 3:25
A5 Empty Highway 4:15
B1 Donnerberg Reifer 3:55
B2 Candle Boogie 3:15
B3 Rock Me 1000 Times 3:10
B4 Show Me Your Star 3:15
B5 Phone Love 4:15


Red labels with silver lettering.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped): ST 4177-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped): ST 4177-B


Add Review



September 20, 2013
Rockport delivers a straight forwards rock with some very slight underground influences in Grave or Kaputter Hamster style,but generally they sound too amateuristic to be interesting.They released 3 LP's all in 1977.Their first album 'Born To Be Free' and their third album 'Dark Sea' were issued on New Blood,the label that spawned other German bands such as Prom,Dorian Grey and Last Exit.Their second album 'Waiting For Love' was released on the Sound label from Grave and Fran O'Rourke.Been told that only 99 copies from each album were pressed and given away to friends,relatives and family.Never sold in shops.Each album by them as an 100% handmade cover.'Born to be free' actually don't have any cover,but only an innersleeve with handsprayed names from the band and the albumtitle.Not any book from the German discography didn't notice something about this band.Maybe this band was not interesting enough to drop them inside or maybe the authors from those books even didn't know the existance from this band.In each case if you're a diehard collector from krautrock you need to have the Rockport albums inside,if you want to be complete.Not the best sound,but it's definately a collectible piece of krautrock.