Rod Modell ‎– Incense & Black Light

Plop ‎– PLOP3, Plop ‎– PLOP 3
CD, Album


1 Aloeswood 3:49
2 Hotel Chez Moi 6:57
3 Body Sonic 5:56
4 Cloud Over 6:09
5 Temple 5:56
6 Ultraviolet World 6:42
7 Subway 5:14
8 Red Light 6:21
9 Into Day 5:47
10 Morning Again 5:01

Companies, etc.



Japanese version distributed by Ultra-Vybe, Inc. which includes an obi strip.

The tracks Aloeswood and Ultraviolet World were previously released as Part 8 and Part 9, respectively, on Spectral Network's Defragment: Part 7-10. Aloeswood is an edited version of Part 8.

Made in Hong Kong. Distributed worldwide by MDM & friends except Japan by Ultra-Vybe, Inc.

℗ 2007 Plop / Nature Bliss Inc.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4560267291031
  • Matrix / Runout: 1B35900014 PLOP3 made in taiwan
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LT025
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI TAL32
  • Rights Society: JASRAC

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
PLOP3, PLOP 3 Rod Modell Incense & Black Light(CD, Album) Plop, Plop PLOP3, PLOP 3 2007 Sell This Version
PLOP3 Rod Modell Incense & Black Light(10xFile, MP3, Album, 320) Plop PLOP3 Japan 2007
PLOP3 Rod Modell Incense & Black Light(10xFile, AIFF, Album) Plop PLOP3 Japan 2007
PLOP3 Rod Modell Incense & Black Light(10xFile, WAV, Album) Plop PLOP3 Japan 2007


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



March 12, 2015
edited over 4 years ago
audio quality of this release is fantastic, enjoyably dynamic, hotel chez moi is my favorite of rods work


June 17, 2008
Rod Modell continues to be a master of his signature sound without rehashing old material. For those that have an ear for this dubby, dare I say Basic Channel-esque sound, you'll recognize a refined sophistication in "Incense & Black Light" that resonates the perfect marriage between lush ambience and dubby chords. As the main man behind the original, somewhat anonymous Deepchord vinyl releases Modell certainly deserves to have his name in the foreground of this essential release.

One quite noticeable difference with "Incense & Black Light" is the overall tone. Modell has released many warm, dubby and even loopy tunes in his day, but this album definitely exudes a darker, haunting feel. "Temple," for instance, with the eerie shriek that keeps panning from right to left, surrounded by a warbling ghostly hum is spooky yet still dub-friendly with the uninhibited kick drum stabs and innocuous bass-line and eventual metallic chords. If there would be anything negative to say about this release is the tracks could be longer. With an average run time of 6 minutes, it seems somewhat a tease after being accustomed to some Modell 12"s that run in the 11 to 14 minute range.