Roosevelt Holts ‎– Presenting The Country Blues

Blue Horizon ‎– 7-63201
Vinyl, LP, Album, Mono

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Prison Bound Blues 2:36
A2 Maggie Campbell Blues 2:51
A3 Feelin' Sad And Blue
Guitar – Babe Stovall
A4 I'm Going To Build Right On That Shore 1:51
A5 Lead Pencil Blues 2:24
A6 Another Mule Kickin' In My Stall 2:39
B1 Little Bitty Woman 3:02
B2 The Good Book Teach You
Harmonica – L. H. Lane
B3 Big Road Blues 2:16
B4 Let's Talk It All Over Again 2:55
B5 Red River Blues 2:02
B6 She Put Me Outdoors 3:14




Add Review



October 3, 2013
I bought this album in Canada in 1973. I was just learning to love and play the acoustic negro slide blues and this album did it for me in spades! The irony was that because the greats like Robert Johnson et al dominated the scene at that time, no one paid much attention to Holts and his music. To extend the irony, I paid 70c for this album in a bargain bin sale!
He has a deep tho' clear voice (not like Charlie Patton or Fred McDowell) and his guitar work is deceptively simple. Listen to the steady backbeat of "I'm Going to Build...." to "Another Mule Kicking in My Stall" and his subltey will become apparent to the fans of the genre.
His songs contain the lyric figures the is found in most of the genre but it is not hackneyed or trite.
I've often been disappointed with "cheapie" records ("liked the cover"; from a guy who bought Townes Van Zandt's "Our Mother the Mountain" for 66c and re-sold it! The shame!) I then wondered after hearing Holt's talent why he was such a marginal figure. My approval of the covered paid off this time!
Worth a careful listen by all you aging heads but unless you collect with a fervor not worth paying a lot for.
Rob Cherrie