Rootless ‎– Rotten Wood For Smoking Bees

Wall Of Sound ‎– WALL CD 005
CD, Album


1 The Beginning Of The Cut 1:08
2 Hornsey Risin' 5:33
3 Interference 6:08
4 Kind Of Blues 6:56
5 Forty Four Dub 6:54
6 There's Magic In My Mind 4:49
7 Gas 7:45
8 Further Interference 4:13
9 Mystical Purposes 6:06
10 Savannah 4:53
11 D'ecoutez 5:24
12 Beat Soup 5:46


Tracks 9 to 12 previously released on vinyl as The Mental Spiritual EP.

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



June 16, 2006
edited over 11 years ago

Well, for calling themselves Rootless, they seem to display plenty of roots here, mostly on the party hip-hop side. But lack of roots isn't the major issue with ROTTEN WOOD FOR SMOKING BEES. Despite the fun, sunny vibe of "Savannah" or the blissful beats on "There's Music in My Mind," the album as a whole seems to lack much drive. The tracks are content to wander on in repetition, without any further development. Similarly, the tracks are awfully similar to each other -- there's not enough internal variation, despite valiant attempts, like the dub of "Forty Four Dub" or the pseudo-Skinny Puppy lyrics of "Gas" or even the quasi-African ethnics on "Mystical Purposes." Though there's no doubting the funkyness of the bass or the beats, I'm afraid that the loops just don't do enough. They end up just being dull.