Roy Moller, Sporting Hero ‎– The Singing's Getting Better

Mecca Holding Company ‎– MECCA 7
CD, Album


1 All The World
2 Losin' The Will To Give
3 Golden Grey
4 Mis-Spent Youth
5 Beneath The Tarmac
6 If I Was Like You
7 Close Enough For Jazz
8 I Remember Dreams
9 I Love You More Than I Hate Him
10 Pop Music Bores
11 The Singing's Getting Better
12 Love Is The Easy Way Out


Add Review



July 12, 2013
edited over 4 years ago

Review from The Sound Project - 30/04/2012

Edinburgh-born singer songwriter Roy Moller returns with a heartfelt third album, this time a collaboration with Northern Irishman Sporting Hero.

This is a cracker of an album, highlighted by Moller's ability to both write great songs songs and perform them in a way that connects with the listener. Hints of rock, country, folk, rockabilly and even psychedelia are all evident over the 36-minute running time.

The album starts with the harmonica-laden 'All the World', a duet with Thrum singer Monica Queen, who also pops up again later on 'I Remember Dreams'. Both songs are straight from the heart, highlighting Moller's ability as a songwriter.

'Losing the Will to Give' is acoustic-pop, whereas 'Close Enough for Jazz' is folk-rock all the way. The country folk-rock 'Golden Grey' sounds like a lost gem from the sixties.

'Mis-Spent Youth' is an acoustic rockabilly number that gets the toe-tapping but it's deep moments like the piano-led 'Beneath the Tarmac' and the acoustic simplicity of 'If I Was Like You' that really stand out. On the latter Moller laments "everything I touch turns to silver", an indication of his own perception of others' dissatisfaction in him.

The title-track 'The Singing's Getting Better' is a folkie sing-along, with Moller declaring 'the singing's getting better but the songs are getting worse' - if only.

Moller has once again delivered an album of real quality and one that improves with every listen. This is definitely a record worth checking out.

Key song: If I Was Like You