Ruggiero Ricci ‎– Geigen Aus Cremona

Deutsche Grammophon ‎– LPEM 19 464, Deutsche Grammophon ‎– LPEM 19464
Vinyl, LP, Album, Mono, Gatefold

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Intrada
Composed By – Desplanes*
A2 Larghetto
Composed By – Nardini*
A3 Praeludium
Composed By – Vivaldi*
A4 Cantabile And Waltz
Composed By – Paganini*
A5 Adagio
Arranged By – Friedberg*Composed By – Mozart*
A6 Improvisation, Op. 21, No.1
Composed By – Kabalevsky*
A7 Melodie Op. 42, No. 3
Composed By – Tchaikovsky*
B1 Largo
Composed By – Veracini*
B2 Sicilienne
Arranged By – Dushkin*Composed By – Paradies*
B3 The Violin Maker Of Cremona
Composed By – Hubay*
B4 Larghetto
Composed By – Handel*
B5 Romance In A Major
Arranged By – Kreisler*Composed By – Schumann*
B6 Hungarian Dance No. 20
Composed By – Brahms*
B7 Hungarian Dance No. 17
Composed By – Brahms*
B8 May Breeze (Song Without Words, Op. 62, No. 1)
Arranged By – Kreisler*Composed By – Mendelssohn*



Original 1964 pressing lp, made in Germany.
Gatefold sleeve, "Alle Hersteller" tulip labels.

A musical inquiry into the nature of violin sound, comparing the "voices" of fifteen historic and rare instruments made by:
A1: Andrea Amati, c. 1560-70
A2: Antonio Stradivari - The "Rode", 1733
A3: Nicolo Amati, 1656
A4: Antonio Stradivari - The "Monasterio", 1719
A5: Joseph Guarneri de Gesù - The "Plowden", 1735
A6: Antonio Stradivari - The "Spanish", 1677
A7: Joseph Guarneri de Gesù - The "Lafont", 1735
B1: Gasparo da Salo, C. 1570-80
B2: Carlo Bergonzi - The "Constable", 1731
B3: Joseph Guarneri de Gesù - The "De Beriot", 1744
B4: Antonio Stradivari - The "Madrileño", 1720
B5: Joseph Guarneri de Gesù - The "Ex-Vieuxtemps", 1739
B6: Antonio Stradivari - The "Joachim", 1714
B7: Joseph Guarneri de Gesù - The "Gibson", 1734
B8: Antonio Stradivari - The "Ernst", 1709

A brief history on each violin and its ownership is given on inside sleeve.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: 19464 A
  • Matrix / Runout: 19464-2 B
  • Rights Society: GEMA / BIEM

Other Versions (5 of 13) View All