Rush ‎– Moving Pictures

Mercury ‎– 534 631-2, Anthem Records (2) ‎– 534 631-2
CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered, PMDC

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Tom Sawyer 4:33
2 Red Barchetta 6:09
3 YYZ 4:24
4 Limelight 4:19
5 The Camera Eye 10:58
6 Witch Hunt
Synthesizer – Hugh Syme
7 Vital Signs 4:46

Companies, etc.



Recorded and mixed at Le Studio, Morin Heights, Quebec, during October and November, of 1980.
Mastered at Gateway Mastering Studios, Portland, Maine.

All songs published by Core Music Publishing (SOCAN)
All lyrics © 1981 Core Music Publishing (SOCAN)

℗ 1981 Mercury Records © 1981 Mercury Records, a PolyGram company © 1981 Anthem Entertainment

Comes in jewel case with clear tray and a 6-page fold-out inlay including lyrics.
PMDC = PMDC, Germany pressing (from matrix information).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 731453463127
  • Label Code: LC 0268
  • Rights Society: BIEM / MCPS
  • Rights Society: SOCAN
  • Price Code: PY 899
  • Matrix / Runout: 534 631-2 01 + MADE IN GERMANY BY PMDC C
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L002
  • Mould SID Code: none

Other Versions (5 of 148) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ANR-1-1030 Rush Moving Pictures(LP, Album) Anthem Records (2) ANR-1-1030 Canada 1981 Sell This Version
800 048-2 Rush Moving Pictures(CD, Album) Mercury 800 048-2 Europe Unknown Sell This Version
822-549-4 M-1, 422 822-549-4 M-1 Rush Moving Pictures(Cass, Album, 72,) Mercury, PolyGram 822-549-4 M-1, 422 822-549-4 M-1 US Unknown Sell This Version
SOC 6368E Rush Moving Pictures(Cass, Album) Sun Musical Inc. SOC 6368E Unknown Sell This Version
00602547118080 Rush Moving Pictures(LP, Album, RE, RM, 180) Mercury, Universal Music Group International, Anthem Records (2) 00602547118080 Europe 2015 Sell This Version



Add Review



February 8, 2018

I remember back in 2006, at the age of 19, I was playing in a band with a drummer who wanted to do a cover of 'Tom Sawyer'. I'd heard of Rush and was well-aware of how they'd inspired countless others, but I'd yet to actually listen to them. Oddly enough, around the same time, another friend of mine (a bassist... poor fella), was digging the instrumental track 'YYZ'. I was blown away by both songs, and when I found out they appeared on the same album, the decision was made. And so 'Moving Pictures', coincidentally one of Rush's most beloved and renowned releases, also served as my introduction to the Canadian rockers.

Not a bad place to start.

Having started as a traditional hard rock outfit, by the time Rush reached 'Moving Pictures', their eighth studio release, they were firmly established as a progressive rock act, with their music full of the traits associated with the genre. While the band had used keyboards and synthesizers before, this album ushered the trio into the 80's, in which their music would become much more keyboard-driven, adapting to the musical trends of the time, whilst never compromising their own identity.

Containing fan favourites such as 'Tom Sawyer', 'YYZ', 'Limelight', 'Vital Signs' and 'Red Barchetta', 'Moving Pictures' features excellent performances by everyone involved, with no self-indulgent endless musical passages, every note on this record has true meaning behind it, and is wonderfully produced to ensure the band sound as majestic as ever.

Highly regarded amongst fans as Rush's greatest release, 'Moving Pictures' is a classic album that rightfully deserves it's place in every progressive rock collection.