Sade ‎– Stronger Than Pride

Epic ‎– EPC 460497 1
Vinyl, LP, Album

Companies, etc.



℗ 1988 CBS Records / © 1988 CBS Records
Printed in Holland / Imprimé en Hollande / Distribution CBS Records / CBS Disques S.A.

Recorded at Compass Point Studios, Nassau, Bahamas.
Studio Miraval, France.
Studio Marcadet, Paris, France.

Lyrics reproduced by kind permission of Angel Music Ltd.

[All tracks] Angel Music Limited

Made in Holland

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 099746 049713
  • Distribution Code (Boxed doubled): CB 321
  • Price Code (Encircled): 58
  • Other (Back cover): PX
  • Label Code: LC 0199
  • Rights Society: BIEM/STEMRA
  • Other (Manufacturers code, cover & sleeve): 01-460497-20
  • Matrix / Runout (Label, side A): 01-460497-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Label, side B): 01-460497-2
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side A, variant 1): 01 460497 4A1 / TY1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side B, variant 1): 01 460497 1B1 / TY1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side A, variant 2, 4): 01 460497 2A1 / TY1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side B, variant 2): 01 460497 4B1 / TY1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side A, variant 3): 01 460497 1A1 / TY1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side B, variant 3, 4): 01 460497 2B1 / TY1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side A, variant 5): 01 460497 4A1 B TY1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side B, variant 5): 01 460497 2B1 TY1 D

Other Versions (5 of 115) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
M 257 Sade Stronger Than Pride(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Mad Vox M 257 Poland Unknown Sell This Version
EK 85242 Sade Stronger Than Pride(CD, Album, RE) Epic EK 85242 US Unknown Sell This Version
25·3P-5015 Sade Stronger Than Pride(LP, Album) Epic 25·3P-5015 Japan 1988 Sell This Version
460497 4 Sade Stronger Than Pride(Cass, Album) Epic 460497 4 Indonesia 1988 Sell This Version
JPCD 2002527 Sade Stronger Than Pride(CD, Album, RM, Unofficial) Not On Label (Sade) JPCD 2002527 Russia Unknown Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



July 31, 2018
edited 12 months ago
I went overboard in some reviews as whatever I don't have to give excuses, but anyway I find it funny how the shadow of this album (and previous from Sade) were everywhere in the downtempo and electronica during the 90s and 00s. Sade and her band - all four are an integral part of the looks, the brand, the sound, the mood - go a bit further than the home listening and blend it a bit with soul and disco jazz, which on one hand gave them quite a success in mainstream because on how accessible they were and on the other that the production is so rich and complicated that it predates all the craze with slow disco so many years later. And it was funny, because on one hand the Sade albums were considered the easy listening, the listening for dinners, but on the other "Turn my back on you", "Keep looking", "Paradise", "Nothing can come between us" are incredibly moody ambient jazzy disco tunes with a so careful use of call and response and syncopation that makes them so unique and catchy.

There are things here that take you back to the year it was made as the instrumental and some ballads, but the influence, oh the influence. You go to Dekmantel and someone drops Sade. You go to a Church or Coastal Haze party and Sade is there. You hear hints of Sade in the Latin years of John Beltran. If this band are still that admired in the electronic scene is because we grew up with that and our love with rhythm and melody is related to what is exposed here.

And the title song is one of the most beautiful love songs ever and "sitting here waiting for you would be like waiting for winter" gets me every time and I rest my case members of the jury.


November 30, 2016

Bad cut! CD sound.
Lacks richness and fullness of other analogue pressings.