Saint Etienne ‎– Foxbase Alpha

Warner Bros. Records ‎– 9 26793-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 This Is Radio Etienne 0:43
2 Only Love Can Break Your Heart
Bass – Harvey WilliamsVocals – Moira LambertWritten-By – Neil Young
3 Wilson 1:59
4 Carnt Sleep 4:44
5 Girl VII 3:46
6 Spring 3:44
7 She's The One 3:08
8 People Get Real 4:45
9 Stoned To Say The Least 7:42
10 Nothing Can Stop Us 4:21
11 Etienne Gonna Die 1:32
12 London Belongs To Me 3:57
13 Kiss And Make Up
Programmed By [Additional Programming] – Pete HellerWritten-By – Wratten*, Hiscock*
14 Like The Swallow 7:42
15 Dilworth's Theme 0:41

Companies, etc.


  • Design [Sleeve]Anthony Sweeney
  • EngineerIan Catt
  • Guitar, Programmed By [Keyboards], Other [Elephant Chair]Ian Catt
  • Keyboards [Prophet 5], Sampler [Emax], Bongos, Other [Unskinny Bop]Pete Wiggs
  • Keyboards [Roland Jupiter 8, Korg M1], Tambourine, Other [Tiger Tokens]Bob Stanley
  • Liner NotesJon Savage
  • ManagementAlan McGee
  • Other [American Psyche] – Jerry Jaffe
  • Other [Girl With Sign] – Celina Nash
  • Other [Long Leg] – Kate Askey
  • Other [Press] – Jeff Barrett
  • Other [Spin Bowler] – Andrew Wickham
  • Other [Suits] – Paul The Tailor
  • Other [The Cage] – Martin Kelly
  • Other [The Inspirational Choir] – Billy Nasty, Bo Savage, Gazareth Sweeney, Uncle Vibes
  • Photography ByJoe Dilworth
  • ProducerSaint Etienne
  • VocalsSarah Cracknell
  • Written-ByStanley* (tracks: 1, 3 to 15), Wiggs* (tracks: 1, 3 to 15)


Engineered at Cat Music, Mitcham

All songs published by Warner Chappell except:
Track 2 published by Cotillion Music Inc./Broken Arrow Music adm. by Warner-Tamerlane Pub. Corp. BMI and
Track 13 published by Xit.

© ℗ 1991 Warner Bros. Records Inc., a Time Warner Company.
Mfd. by WEA Manufacturing.
Made in U.S.A.

Some copies were initially released in longbox packaging.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (String): 075992679329
  • Barcode (Text): 0 7599-26793-2 9
  • Matrix / Runout: 1 26793-2 SRC-01
  • SPARS Code: ADD

Other Versions (5 of 30) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
HVNLP1CD Saint Etienne Foxbase Alpha(CD, Album) Heavenly HVNLP1CD UK 1991 Sell This Version
9 26793-2 Saint Etienne Foxbase Alpha(CD, Album, RE) Warner Bros. Records 9 26793-2 US Unknown Sell This Version
HVNLP1CD, 4989992000 Saint Etienne Foxbase Alpha(CD, Album, RE) Heavenly, Columbia HVNLP1CD, 4989992000 UK Unknown Sell This Version
9 26793-4, 4-26793 Saint Etienne Foxbase Alpha(Cass, Album, AR,) Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records 9 26793-4, 4-26793 US 1991 Sell This Version
9 26793-4, 4-26793 Saint Etienne Foxbase Alpha(Cass, Album, SR,) Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records 9 26793-4, 4-26793 US 1991 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



August 17, 2005
edited over 13 years ago

Foxbase Alpha- I remember finding this tape under the seat of my car and thinking, "what the hell is this?"- weird cover + title, a group I'd never heard of- it wound up being my friend's who never missed it. Umpteen years later, it still rocks my world- especially Stoned to Say the Least, but actually every track. Cracknell's voice is almost incomparably girly and sexy, and the music as described above is poppy but eclectic accessible to even the most purist of house fans. But Saint Etienne fit into no strict category- like Groove Armada of "Vertigo" fame, it's "dance" music that's breezy and catchy while being musically and creatively balanced. And FA is, doubtless, their best album.


August 16, 2005
edited over 13 years ago

Saint Etienne's first album, FOXBASE ALPHA, rightfully set the standard for pop music. In a world where "pop music" is seen as somehow substandard, Saint Etienne proves the critics that pop can both be catchy and musically worthwhile (the humorous and sample-heavy interludes notwithstanding). "Only Love Can Break Your Heart," a Neil Young cover, is an obvious hit, but less likely tracks also sparkle: "Girl VII," "Spring" and "Carnt Sleep" run the gamut from uptempo fun to downtempo lullaby. And, as if to prove their range, "Stoned to Say the Least" is a instrumental house track, while "Like the Swallow" starts off ambient, then verges into melancholy. There are a few missteps, like the overused sample on "She's the One" or the slightly watery "London Belongs to Me," but the summery warmth of "People Get Real" and "Nothing Can Stop Us" amply make up any shortcomings.