Saint Etienne ‎– I Love To Paint

Heavenly ‎– HVNLP 9
Vinyl, LP, Limited Edition, Reissue

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Flight To Tashkent
Written-By – Stanley*, Wiggs*
A2 Sushi Rider
Bass – Jak KnowlesDrums – Spencer Smith (3)Engineer – Seb Lewsley*Guitar – Paul KellyGuitar, Backing Vocals – Debsey WykesKeyboards – Guy BatsonProducer – Edwyn CollinsWritten-By – Bund*, Cracknell*
A3 Deutscher Kendals
Written-By – Stanley*, Wiggs*
A4 Think Twice
Written-By – Stanley*, Wiggs*
A5 Studio Kinda Filthy
Vocals – Q-TeeWritten-By – Stanley*, Wiggs*, Mais*
A6 We're Coming In Loaded
Backing Vocals – Siobhan BrookesBass – Jak KnowlesDrums – Spencer Smith (3)Guitar – Paul KellyGuitar, Backing Vocals – Debsey WykesKeyboards – Guy BatsonWritten-By – Blackwell*, Scott*
B1 Fife Coast
Written-By – Stanley*, Wiggs*
B2 Fake 88
Voice [Dulcet Tones Courtesy Of] – Stephen DuffyWritten-By – Stanley*, Wiggs*
B3 Parliament Hill
Guitar – Harvey WilliamsWritten-By – Stanley*, Williams*, Wiggs*
B4 Everything I Touch Turns To Gold
Written-By – Stanley*, Wiggs*
B5 Schroeder
Written-By – Stanley*, Wiggs*
B6 Stranger In Paradise
Written-By – Forrest*, Wright*

Companies, etc.



All songs published by Warner Chappell except
'Sushi Rider' published by Universal/Copyright Control
'We're Coming In Loaded' published by Elvis Presley Music/Carlin Music
'Parliament Hill' published by Warner Chappell/Warner Chappell/Copyright Control
'Stranger In Paradise' published by Scheffel Music Corp/Warner Chappell

Strictly limited to 1000 copies worldwide, exclusively available from Saint Etienne's webstore.
This edition comes complete with card inner sleeve featuring track by track annotations and a digital download card.
Copies ordered together with Nice Price came with a Christmas card signed by all three members of Saint Etienne.

'I Love To Paint' is the result of rummaging through five years worth of Saint Etienne tapes. Some songs have sadly vanished forever due to our faultless filing system - a carrier bag in my shoe cupboard. Seeing as you all love us enough to have slipped us a fiver to join the fan club, we hope you'll forgive us for the songs you don't like. What the heck. Have fun,
Bob Stanley, December 1994.

Track comments by Bob Stanley (printed on inner sleeve):
A1. Almost but not quite included on 'So Tough'. It creeps inside the mind of a passenger on a plane which, unknown to them, will crash before the end of the song.
A2. Produced by Edwyn Collins at a studio in Wood Green. Greener and woodier than the acoustic version on the flip side of 'Like A Motorway'.
A3. From an aborted session recorded summer '94, this ended up as incidental music on a German TV programme featuring naked teenagers, according to our sources in Essen.
A4. In a horribly unfinished state. This song was considered as the double A side coupling for 'Hobart Paving' before we plumped for that perennial showstopper 'Who Do You Think You Are'. Another song called 'Everlasting' was recorded at this time but the tapes have been lost to time's deadly vortex.
A5. Only previously available on the club promos of 'Filthy', the Heavenly Sunday Social gave it a revival of sorts last autumn.
A6. 'Bring beer and chips' edition of an Elvis Presley song from the film 'Girls, Girls, Girls'. Taped on the calamitous opening night of the Shepherd's Bush Empire.
B1. This Stevie Wonder 'inspired' number is taken from the same session as the German porn tune.
B2. Intended to be the screaming finale of 'Foxbase Alpha', the comic aspects of the 1980s turned it into a show tune while our backs were turned. Eventually ended up on a Volume compilation. Dulcet tones courtesy of Stephen Duffy.
B3. Also from the 'Foxbase Alpha' sessions. Guest guitarist Harvey Williams stars on this imaginary 'Play For Today' theme.
B4. A demo intended for our favourite drag queen, Naomi Campbell. Sadly she decided against becoming a disco diva, joining U2 and penning the '90s equivalent of 'Slaughterhouse Five' instead.
B5. From the Charlie Brown-obsessed period at the beginning of 1994, this is the twin brother of 'Highgate Road Incident', the bride of 'Pale Movie'.
B6. One of my childhood faves, we covered this '50s smash for the NME 'Ruby Trax' compilation. Recorded during the 'So Tough' sessions.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): BH91957-01 A1 SJ HVNLP9
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): BH91957-01 B1 SJ HVNLP9

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
HVNLP 9CD Saint Etienne I Love To Paint(CD, Album) Heavenly HVNLP 9CD UK 1995 Sell This Version
HVNLP 9CD Saint Etienne I Love To Paint(CD, Unofficial) Heavenly HVNLP 9CD UK 2013 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



December 22, 2017

Finally on vinyl! At least 3 more albums to go! See: Boxette


December 9, 2017
£65 and its only been out a day? You can still buy this from Saint Etienne's website. Damn flippers!