Saint Etienne ‎– So Tough

Warner Bros. Records ‎– 9 45166-2, Heavenly ‎– 9 45166-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Mario's Cafe 4:38
2 Railway Jam 4:14
3 Date With Spelman 0:18
4 Calico
Vocals – Q-TeeWritten-By – Mais*
5 Avenue
Written-By – Catt*, Cracknell*
6 You're In A Bad Way
Producer [Additional Production] – Alan TarneyWritten-By – Cracknell*
7 Memo To Pricey 0:23
8 Hobart Paving
Arranged By – Van Dyke Parks
9 Leafhound 4:12
10 Clock Milk 0:14
11 Conchita Martinez 4:00
12 No Rainbows For Me 3:58
13 Here Come Clown Feet 0:26
14 Junk The Morgue 5:12
15 Chicken Soup 0:19
16 Join Our Club 3:22

Companies, etc.


  • Artwork [Sleeve Design]M Design
  • EngineerIan Catt
  • Guitar, Programmed By [Keyboards], Other [Whistling Jack]Ian Catt
  • Keyboards [Prophet 5, Roland Jupiter], Handclaps, Other [Spriguns Of Tolgus]Bob Stanley
  • Keyboards [Rogue Moog], Sampler [Emax Sampler], Other [Basso Profundo, Polk Salad]Pete Wiggs
  • Liner NotesKevin Pearce
  • Other [Fifth Tattoo] – Kate Askew
  • Other [Fluted Face] – Ranald McDonald
  • Other [Man At Bar] – Simon Price
  • Other [Man In Café - Food On My Table] – Gerald M Jaffe
  • Other [Management] – McGee, Jaffe, Kelly
  • Other [Painter Man] – Michael Gillette
  • Other [The Kissing Kind] – Andrew Wickham
  • Other [Waitress] – Celina Nash
  • Photography ByJames Fry*
  • Photography By [Beach Photo]Paul Kelly
  • ProducerSaint Etienne
  • Vocals, Other [Sri Lanka, Macca Keyring]Sarah Cracknell
  • Written-ByStanley*, Wiggs*


Engineered at RMS, London.
Recorded at RMS, London summer - autumn 1992.

You're In A Bad Way is the single version and not the original UK album mix.

'The Spirit Of Radio' by Rush on 'Conchita Martinez' sampled under license from Polygram Special Markets, a division of Polygram Group Distribution Inc.
The Spirit Of Radio © 1980 Core Music Publishing.

Published by Warner Chappell Music Ltd. PRS, admin. by Warner Tamerlane Pub. Corp. BMI except:
Avenue & You're In A Bad Way: Published by Warner Chappell Music Ltd. PRS, admin. by Warner Tamerlane Pub. Corp. BMI / Copyright Control

Warner Bros. Records Inc., a Time Warner Company.
©℗ 1993 Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Made in USA.

This first US edition of So Tough features Warner Bros. and Heavenly logos both on the back inlay and on disc.
A repress can be identified thanks to the presence of a mould SID code and the absence of the Heavenly logo on disc.

So Tough was also released in the US as a 17-track version including Who Do You Think You Are.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 9362-45166-2 0
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 1 45166-2 SRC=01 M2S1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): 1 45166-2 SRC=01 M2S3

Other Versions (5 of 21) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
HVNLP6CD Saint Etienne So Tough(CD, Album) Heavenly HVNLP6CD UK 1993 Sell This Version
9362-45166-2 Saint Etienne So Tough(CD, Album) Warner Bros. Records 9362-45166-2 Europe 1993 Sell This Version
9 45338-2 Saint Etienne So Tough(CD, Album) Warner Bros. Records 9 45338-2 US 1993 Sell This Version
HVNLP6CDX Saint Etienne So Tough(CD, Album + CD, Comp + Ltd) Heavenly HVNLP6CDX UK 1993 Sell This Version
HVNLP6CD, 4990002000 Saint Etienne So Tough(CD, Album, RE) Heavenly, Columbia HVNLP6CD, 4990002000 UK Unknown Sell This Version



Add Review



August 24, 2005
edited over 13 years ago

SO TOUGH remains Saint Etienne's highest pinnacle of pop perfection; indeed it's a seminal document in the annals of pop. Who else can make the character study of "Mario's Cafe" into a groovy hit? But the real magic comes with the trifecta of "Avenue," "You're in a Bad Way" and "Hobart Paving." "Avenue," a delicious midtempo track tinged with sadness, flows through its numerous tempo changes with grace. "You're in a Bad Way" is a deliriously bright track that harkens back to the 60s, with cheeky lyrics and a finger-snapping rhythm. "Hobart Paving" is a deeply moving torch song with its tender refrain of "don't forget to catch me." After those, of course, it's difficult to compare (where do you go after perfection?), but Saint Etienne manage to pop out a few more gems: the house/guitar-thrash of "Conchita Martinez" or the self-referential "Join Our Club." All in all, an indispensible album.