Salomé De Bahia ‎– Brasil

Tommy Boy ‎– TB 1628-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Taj Mahal 4:47
2 País Tropical 3:11
3 Festa Para Um Rei Negro 3:54
4 Mas Que Nada 3:52
5 Lança Perfume 4:14
6 Fio Maravilha 3:37
7 Copacabana 3:54
8 Cada Vez 4:19
9 Brigitte Bardot 3:23
10 Sambala 2:56
11 Sambala 3:27
12 Mambo Bacan 3:42
13 Você Abusou
Featuring – Michel Fugain
14 Bossa Rio 3:12
15 Outro Lugar 5:17


Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ПРЗ СD51552 Salomé De Bahia Brasil(CD, Album) World Club Music ПРЗ СD51552 Russia 2005 Sell This Version
8910622 Salomé De Bahia Brasil(CD, Album) More Music And Media 8910622 2006 Sell This Version
YP CD 205 Salomé De Bahia Brasil(CD, Album) Yellow Productions YP CD 205 France 2005 Sell This Version


Add Review



March 19, 2007
edited over 10 years ago

Why go to Brazil when you can bring BRASIL to you? Salomé De Bahia's second album is another tropicalia explosion. It's carnivale in just under an hour. There's plenty of finger-snapping moments on the immensely catchy "Pais Tropical" and the chorus on "Festa Para Um Rei Negro" will almost have you singing along. The famous "Mas Que Nada" gets a nice downtempo rub here, and the stripped-down (by comparison) "Brigette Bardot" lingers long after the the horns have quieted. A bit of cheeky charm creeps into "Mambo Bacan," and Michel Fugain lends his mellifluous voice to "Voce Abusou" as a counterpoint to de Bahia's powerhouse performances. But, in my eyes, the reclaiming of Barry Manilow's "Copacabana" is the album's high point. If Manilow was only toying with tropicalia, then Salome de Bahia serves it hot, fruit hat and all.