Sandals ‎– Rite To Silence

Open Toe Records ‎– 828 488.2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Feet
Piano – John HallProducer – SandalsProducer [Additional Production], Remix – Joe GibbProducer [Pre-production] – Tim "Doggy Dog" Orford*
2 Nothing
Engineer – Joe GibbPiano – Neil BarnesProducer – Leftfield
3 No Movement
Producer – SandalsProducer [Additional Production], Remix – Joe Gibb
4 Change
Guitar – Nick Van, Gelder*Producer – SandalsProducer [Additional Production], Remix – Joe GibbProducer [Original Production] – Hugo NicolsonProducer [Vocal Production] – Mike Neilsen*
5 Ardens Bud
Engineer – Chris JonesProducer – Leftfield
6 We Wanna Live
Guitar – Donald Skinner*Producer [Pre-production] – Patrick McMahonProducer, Engineer, Programmed By – Hugo NicolsonVocals – Elizabeth Troy*
7 We Don't Wanna Be The Ones To Take The Blame
Piano – Ceri EvansProducer – James Johnston, SandalsProducer [Additional Production] – Mike Neilson*Producer [Final Production], Engineer, Remix – Joe Gibb
8 Lovewood
Guitar – Nick Van, Gelder*Producer – James Johnston, SandalsProducer [Additional Production], Remix – Joe Gibb
9 Here Comes The Sign
Producer [Additional Production], Remix – Joe Gibb
10 Profound Dub
Engineer – Chris Jones

Companies, etc.



Tracks 1, 3, 4, 6 to 8 London Music.
Tracks 2, 5, 9, 10 London Music/Copyright Control.

Tracks 1, 3, 4 additional production and remix at Joes Garage Studios. Track 3 also at Metropolis and Townhouse Studios.
Tracks 2, 5, 10 engineered at Rollover Studios.
Track 4 vocal production at Joes Garage Studios, Metropolis and Townhouse Studios.
Track 7 additional production at Metropolis Studios.
Tracks 8, 9 additional production and remix at Joes Garage.

Marketed in France by Barclay and in Germany by Metronome Music GmbH
℗ 1994 London. The copyright in this sound recording is owned by London Records 90 Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 42282 84882 6
  • Label Code: LC 7654
  • Matrix / Runout: 828 488-2 01 + MADE IN GERMANY BY PMDC E
  • Rights Society: BIEM STEMRA
  • Distribution Code: BA 900

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
828 488.16 Sandals Rite To Silence(Cass, Album) Open Toe Records 828 488.16 UK 1994 Sell This Version
828 488.1 Sandals Rite To Silence(2xLP, Album, Ltd) Open Toe Records 828 488.1 UK 1994 Sell This Version
POCD-1139 Sandals Rite To Silence(CD, Album) Open Toe Records POCD-1139 Japan 1994 Sell This Version
697 124 026-2 Sandals Rite To Silence(CD, Album) FFRR 697 124 026-2 US 1994 Sell This Version



Add Review



June 2, 2013
"See evil more clearly as your Third Eye opens ..." ... some extraordinary percussion by Blanchard as well as some almost painfully true observations of growing dissatisfaction with the paralysing restrictions of a dying world view go to make up a seemingly quite political album. But simple "politics" might be a distraction here as the compositions and lyrics are a truly deep (deep triphop?) manifesto for authentic humanity. But there is no rage against the machine here, only something far more profound. 1994, the release date of this record, was the year of the Zapatista revolt in Mexico that eventually allowed the people of Chiapas, Mexico to establish their own, now peaceful, self administered society. I was there in 94 and returned to the UK looking for music that could express what I had felt there. The music here has a similiar "enough is enough", Ya Basta! (cry of the Zapatista's) quality to it that leads to some truly unusual musical moments to say the least. I never knew Leftfield was the producer on Ardens Bud and Nothing. This is a valuable recording that weaves it's way into the growing free party scene and artistic culture of the early to mid 90's and beyond. Highly recommended.