Savage Republic ‎– Aegean

Mobilization Records ‎– MOB110
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Victory
Trombone – Adrian CarrilloTrumpet – Hayden Ortiz
2 27 Days
3 2Ships II
4 El Porto
5 Thessaly I
6 Barbizon Exposure
Cümbüş [Oud] – Emad Gabra
7 Arci Kroen
8 Aegean
Guitar [Additional] – Greg GrunkeVoice – Stella Papandreopoulou
9 Helena
10 Bedouin
11 Pio Pico
Trombone – Adrian CarrilloTrumpet – Hayden Ortiz
12 Salonika
Violin – Blaine Reininger*
13 Peloponesia
14 Thessaly II
15 Exarchia
16 Omonoia
Goblet Drum [Doumbek] – Jon Crawford
17 2Ships I
18 Sons And Lovers
19 The Arab Spring
Cümbüş [Oud] – Emad GabraViolin – Blaine Reininger*

Companies, etc.



In Memory Of Val Haller.

The release comes in a 6-panel Digipak with a transparent tray in the middle and without a booklet.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 8 01673 01102 3
  • Barcode (String): 801673011023
  • Matrix / Runout: AEGEAN S4130B GROOVEHOUSE 10840 01
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LL29
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
NB.V.02 Savage Republic Aegean(2xLP, Album, Ltd, Blu) Nuit Et Brouillard NB.V.02 France 2015 Sell This Version
NB.V.02 Savage Republic Aegean(2xLP, Album, Ltd, Bla) Nuit Et Brouillard NB.V.02 France 2015 Sell This Version



Add Review



March 26, 2014
edited over 4 years ago

30+ years later and Savage Republic is still pushing ahead with their latest album Aegean. There are a total of 19 tracks ranging from 30 seconds to 8 minutes in running time. “Victory” opens up the album with a call back to the early SR sound complete with military styled drumming. The majority of tracks are instrumental on this release but tracks like “27 Days”, complete with aggressive vocals, show that SR still have their punk roots firmly set and there’s no letting up in aggression and attitude. The interlude tracks like “2ships II” weave and in and out throughout this album leaving the listener to take a breather and chill out. .
Stand out tracks for me on this release would have to be “Pio Pico”, “27 Days”, “Pelopenssia”, "Sons and Lovers" and “El Porto”. “El Porto” evokes some the surf style sound that SR has provided in the past. “Salonika”, “The Arab Spring”, “Thesaly I” and “Thesaly II” sound like outtakes from their 2013 Varvakios release. Tuxedomoon’s Blaine L. Reininger providing strings on “Salonika” and “The Arab Spring” add a nice touch to mood of Aegean
The digipak is beautifully packaged that folds out with a nice painting by George Nikas that will stand out in your collection. It would be nice to see this get released in vinyl format but kudos has to be given to Savage Republic for making this release happen so quickly.