Savatage ‎– Return To Wacken

Ear Music ‎– 0210371EMU
CD, Compilation


1 Hall Of The Mountain King
2 Gutter Ballet
3 Believe
4 Chance
5 Edge Of Thorns
6 The Wake Of Magellan
7 Dead Winter Dead
8 The Hourglass
9 Tonight He Grins Again
10 Prelude To Madness
11 When The Crowds Are Gone

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4029759103714

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



February 8, 2018

'Return to Wacken' is a very confusing and misleading compilation album that was released to coincide with Savatage's joint appearance with the Trans-Siberian Orchestra at the 2015 Wacken Festival in Germany.

The problem is that everything about this release made it seem like a live album, perhaps of one of the bands earlier Wacken appearances, which would have made the most sense. It even has "celebrating a return to the stage..." on the bloody cover! But instead, we get a compilation which is supposedly based upon and inspired by the set lists of Savatage's two previous performances at the prestigious event.

With that said, Savatage are one of my favourite bands, and the music here is still damn good. But as a compilation release, it's very underwhelming. With a wealth of material to choose from, reducing the bands best material down to a meagre eleven songs is near-impossible. Sure, we get 'Edge of Thorns', 'Chance', 'Hall of the Mountain King', 'Gutter Ballet' and 'The Wake of Magellan', not too shabby really, but there's still just so much missing, that it's pretty impossible to really care about this release at all.

Overall, 'Return to Wacken' is just a shameless cash-in on Savatage's return to the stage after a 14-year hiatus. It could make a good starting point for newcomers, but realistically there's better compilations or studio albums to choose from. The truly sad thing is that I knew all of this yet I bought it anyway because I'm such a huge fan and needed it in my collection.