ScanX* ‎– Chroma

F Communications ‎– F040CD, F Communications ‎– F 040CD
CD, Album


1 Dust 5:44
2 Grey Lights 5:51
3 Secrets 6:29
4 Voodoo 6:14
5 Earthquake 4:53
6 Wood 6:14
7 Blackmoon 3:28
8 Turmoil 5:30
9 Blue 072C 3:03
10 Requiem 4:21
11 Red Dogs 6:05
12 Wasteland 7:13

Companies, etc.



Distribution France & Benelux by PIAS France, Germany by Rough Trade RTD, UK by PIAS UK. Distribution by Charged/Vital

p & c 1996 F Communications

Disc: F040CD
Inlay: F 040CD

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 413356 821628
  • Barcode (String): 5413356821628
  • Matrix / Runout: [DADC Austria Logo] A0100185045-0101 12 A1
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L552
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 94I5
  • Label Code: LC 7800
  • Price Code (Germany): PC 43
  • Price Code (France & Benelux): 381P
  • Distribution Code (France & Benelux): 137 0040 20
  • Rights Society: Sabam/Biem

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
F 040 DLP, 137.0040.12 Scan X Chroma(2xLP, Album, Gat) F Communications, Play It Again Sam [PIAS] F 040 DLP, 137.0040.12 France 1996 Sell This Version
KICP 501 Scan X Chroma(CD, Album) Seven Seas KICP 501 Japan 1996 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



August 12, 2013

Scan X's debut, CHROMA, is classic French techno, from the arpeggios and dark thrum of "Dust" to the more spacey breaks of "Grey Lights" or the synth swirls of "Secrets" and tribal rhythms of "Voodoo." The varied moods lends the album to repeated listens, whether the pure dancefloor stomp of "Earthquake" and "Red Dogs" or the more melodic leanings of "Wood" or even the mysterious ambience of "Turmoil" and "Requiem." The deep hits and sparkling acid of "Wasteland" close out the album. A little gem of an album.


April 11, 2013
edited over 7 years ago

The First album By Scan X turns out to be an amazing genious Masterpiece, this is the best Electronic music Album i ever heard, Stephane Dri expressed with huge streng his unique unmatched talented Style, this Album is an Odysse to the Dark world of Scan X, musics that will tell you storys about ghosts, old places, and futuristic experiences. Musics like " Dust", "Secrets", "Voodoo" will provide you shadowy and mysterious tunes, "Red Dogs", "wasteland", "Grey lights" and "Earthquake" will give you energy to move in a frenzy way and make you feel surrounded by dark forces, other tracks like "Wood" , "Blackmoon" will give a relaxing atmosphere, and "Turmoil" is definetly my favourite music of this album, very powerfull and very deep it makes me see Nature with high admiration and respect. the only track wich feels a bit pale compared to the rest of the album is "blue 072C", but apart from that this is an album of 5 stars.


August 1, 2001
edited over 19 years ago
A classic 1997 techno-record really, though it stretches quite a bit further than just pure techno. It was a major leap forward for Dri whose former output comprised mostly of trancy stuff (of both the slow and fast variety). Tracks here vary from electro over full-blown techno to minimalistic ambient scapes. There's even a drone-track, 'Turmoil', which feels oddly out of place, but is a sign of Dri's ambition to release not just another techno record. Stéphane Dri succeeds on almost every level even though the record isn't exactly groundbreaking or anything. Most of this was already done (and even better) by Juan Atkins. Though to Dri's merit, hardly any of the tracks feel like filler (except for 'Blue072C' which feels much the same as the superior 'Red Dogs'). Standout-tracks are many and include the menacing electro-techno of 'Wasteland' (also released as a single with some additional remixes), the slow deep minimal techno of 'Wood' and the over-the-top freakiness of 'Red Dogs'. 'Voodoo' and 'Secrets' deserve good mention as well in my opinion as they bathe in a dark claustrophobic atmosphere. Dri promised a lot with this record, but to this day, he hasn't really delivered. 'Lost', the record's successor was more limited in scope and somewhat disappointing. Though you may feel I was a bit hard on Dri here, this really is an excellent record. You can't go wrong with this one if techno and/or electro's your thing. Great listening. 7.5/10