Scorn ‎– Deliverance

Earache ‎– MOSH 78CD
CD, Single


Companies, etc.


  • Bass Guitar, Lead Guitar, Percussion, Drum Machine, Sampler [Samples], VoiceMichael John Harris*, Nicholas James Bullen*
  • Engineer [Engineered By]Jon Wakelin
  • Management [European Agency Representation By]Tom Van Hemert
  • Management [Management Representation By], Other [Respect Due To]Andy Baker (11)
  • Other [Respect Due To] – Steve Tisdale
  • Producer [Produced By], Sleeve [Sleeve Constructed By]Scorn


Recorded and mixed at "Jasmine Cafe The Studio" Birmingham, July-August 1992.

© Earache Records ℗ Earache Records.

Durations taken from the media player.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5018615107828
  • Matrix / Runout: MOSHCD 78 MPO 01 @@@ 9

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
MOSH 78T Scorn Deliverance(LP) Earache MOSH 78T UK 1992 Sell This Version
MASS 0430 Scorn Deliverance(Cass, Single) Metal Mind Records MASS 0430 Poland 1997 Sell This Version
MOSH 176 CD Scorn Deliverance(CD, Single, RE) Earache MOSH 176 CD US 1997 Sell This Version
MOSH 176 CD, IRS 996.176 Scorn Deliverance(CD, Single, RE) Earache, Intercord Record Service MOSH 176 CD, IRS 996.176 Europe 1997 Sell This Version



Add Review



June 3, 2012
Although this passes itself off as a single, I have heard shorter albums (running time is 39'59"). The promo sheet compares their Dub leanings to CAN & early PIL, with the more Rocky comparisons to SWANS & YOUNG GODS. This is so, especially with the previous "Lick Forever Dog" single which, after the title track which was a bright, colourful GODFLESH-sounding thing with GIRA-like voice, tended towards dark, meandering but always adventurous Dub sounds with the JAH WOBBLE-like bass being the only steady motif. A friend of mine compared them to a slightly evil ORB, darker, more sombre, maybe even deadlier, but along similar tracks - steady bass-end rhythms held tight while the environment & atmosphere forever shape shift in changing shapes & hues. The single is quite a different kettle of fish. I had expected the same sound, perhaps advanced a little, but along the same lines. Judging by the titles, I also expected it - rather foolishly in hindsight - to consist of several remixes. Wrong! Instead this might easily pass for a short, dark & grisly concept album, using a single set of feelings as the leaping-off point. Play opens with the acoustically-weird drumming of the title track "Deliverance", seemingly recorded in a cardboard box, then 'excited' by hall reverb. This acts as cursor for the dark, brooding bass, the strange, other-dimension synthetics & fleecy guitar which move in gluey slowness - not so much dream-state as CLIVE BARKER nightmare-state. The music inspires images in the same colour as the cover - a midnight, metallic blue. Vocals are delivered through thick FX, it's humanity drained off & the remains vacuum sealed into a cybernetic shell. It doesn't try & create a tune so much as a disturbing 'feel'. "Deliverance Through Dub" takes the same track & uses creative echoes, 'dead' gates & interesting stereophonic panning to give the mood an even stranger feel. If the title track was darkly dehumanised, this takes a step or two further into arctic strangeness. It takes more or less every element from the title track & mutates to an extreme point, always interesting despite it's linear structure. "Delivered" opens on a clattering cascade of sharp drums, before collapsing into a drifting, amorphous non-beat piece which washes out of the speakers, susurrating like waves washing moon-lit rocks on a cold, potentially stormy night. This might make good incidental music to a film along the lines of "Tough Guys Don't Dance" or "Blood Simple" - chillingly gravid with potential danger. "To High Heaven" resurrects the "Deliverance" theme, pushing needles into the red with an exploding, up-front instrumental version existing in a state of frozen explosion. A noisier, larger, more dense & possibly shorter mix. And the single closes with "Black Sun Rising" - the title already used in the second track - which again is a shapeless, non-beat thing, a disturbing cacophony of voices repeating the title in never-ending downward helices, all combining to create twisted coils of Industrial noise. This shows just what can be done with voice and a few effects! And for those who are interested in the LULL project - see under SENTRAX PRODUCTIONS - "Delivered" & "Black Sun Rising" should give you a little taste of what lies on that album.

Originally reviewed for Soft Watch.