Scorn ‎– Evanescence

Earache ‎– MOSH 113CD
CD, Album


1 Silver Rain Fell 7:36
2 Light Trap 6:12
3 Falling 4:59
4 Automata 6:17
5 Days Passed 4:34
6 Dreamspace 7:40
7 Exodus 7:18
8 Night Tide 6:08
9 The End 8:01
10 Slumber 4:36

Companies, etc.



Recorded at Arena Productions, Birmingham.
Mixed at the Square Centre, Nottingham.


Released in standard jewel case including 4-page booklet.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 018615 111320
  • Barcode (Scanned EAN-13): 5018615111320
  • Matrix / Runout: MOSH 113 CD · I:I
  • Matrix / Runout: .MASTERED. BY NIMBUS
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): ifpi 2301
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): ifpi 2302
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): none

Other Versions (5 of 10) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
none Scorn Evanescence(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Moon Records (2) none Ukraine 1997 Sell This Version
MOSH 113 CS Scorn Evanescence(Cass, Album) Earache MOSH 113 CS US 1994 Sell This Version
TFCK-88688 Scorn Evanescence(CD, Album) Toy's Factory TFCK-88688 Japan 1994 Sell This Version
MASS 0241 Scorn Evanescence(Cass, Album) Metal Mind Records MASS 0241 Poland 1995 Sell This Version
MOSH 113CD Scorn Evanescence(CD, Album) Earache MOSH 113CD US 1994 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



December 9, 2012

This ground braking Album was my introduction to electronic non-rock music. A gem of a release that is jammed with layer upon layer of darkly lush beauty. I've listened to many, many releases and new artists since and Evanescence has lost none of it's power. One of the best!


June 3, 2012
This album, launched upon the world with the legend 'Redefining Ambient Dub' stickered to the CD case, met with a surge of enthusiastic praise including 'Album Of The Week' in either NME or MM and all manner of accolades. Much as I'd love to cut against the grain, the handful of years since it's release have failed to tarnish it's veneer. For those of you with lives so empty as to not already own this album, I'll attempt to convince you that your record collection has a gaping, Evanescence-shaped hole in it which demands an Evanescence-shaped filler. This album's strength lies not in it's tonal variety - repetition is very much to the forefront - but rather in the sheer relentless drive of the music. That they chose to keep it's BPMs pretty much uniform adds to it's solid, unrelenting status. When you consider that this is a dance album born out of the ashes of Thrash-Meisters NAPALM DEATH and sonic torturers GODFLESH, you'd hardly expect gutless electro-noodling. And you're in no way disappointed. From the doomy chemical spill intro of the albums premier track "Silver Rain Fell" to the screaming silence when the final track finishes, this outer-limits groove grips you and just wont let go. The tracks are long and integral variety kept to a minimum. But it's Train-Driver-Dead-At-The-Wheel impetus is what hammers it's strength home, and what could have overstayed it's welcome departs at just the right moment. Often monochrome - more often colour-drenched, this avoids clichéd electronic pyrotechnics and concentrates on relentless drumming, BULLEN's PIL-simplistic-but-effective bass, a cornucopia of stolen and contaminated samples, and PLOTKIN's other-world Industrial guitar layers. Redefining Ambient Dub? Don't be fooled - this is a cultural cul-de-sac with no in or out - I cannot imagine where it came from and with BULLEN's departure, never led where it promised to go. For this album the line up was MICK HARRIS & NICK BULLEN with JIM PLOTKIN on guitar, NICK GARNETT on didgeridoo and JON WAKELIN credited with 'additional programming'.

Originally reviewed for Soft Watch.


January 2, 2004

This is one of the best albums in my record collection, no matter what genre we're speaking of. It was a revelation for my ears when it was released in 1994, with its breathtaking blend of drum machines, guitar loops, scary synths, deep bass and chorus-drenched vocal parts. This was my alternative soundtrack to the classic game Quake, as it prefectly blended with the blood-dripping and gothic setting of this game. I recommend this highly to anyone ready to explore an angst-ridden, dub-filled universe. A record to relax and go numb inside to!