Scott Hirsch ‎– Lost Time Behind The Moon

Scissor Tail ‎– ST-051
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 When You Were Old
Drums – Orpheo McCordGuitar, Bass – Scott HirschHarmony Vocals – Jade HendrixOrgan – Jimmy CalirePedal Steel Guitar – Jesse SiebenbergSaxophone – Karl Hunter
A2 Long Lost Time
Drums, Harmonica – Mike CoykendallGuitar, Bass – Scott HirschHarmony Vocals – Bernie Larsen, Lauren BarthOrgan – Jimmy CalirePedal Steel Guitar – Jesse Siebenberg
A3 Nothing But Time
Drums – Mike CoykendallGuitar [Earworm] – William TylerGuitar, Bass, Percussion – Scott HirschHarmony Vocals – Lauren BarthKeyboards [Wurlitzer] – Mikael Jorgensen
A4 Rose's Song
Bass – Daniel Wright (5)Cello – Yair EvnineDrums – Orpheo McCordGuitar – Scott HirschPedal Steel Guitar – Jesse Siebenberg
A5 A Pair Of Nines
Guitar, Bass, Drums – Scott Hirsch
B1 Spirits
Drums, Piano, Synth – Mike CoykendallGuitar, Bass – Scott HirschHarmony Vocals – Bernie Larsen, Lauren Barth
B2 No No
Drums, Piano, Synth – Mike CoykendallGuitar, Bass, Organ – Scott HirschHarmony Vocals – Bernie Larsen, Lauren Barth
B3 Valley Of The Moon
Drums, 12-String Acoustic Guitar – Mike CoykendallGuitar, Bass, Melodica, Percussion – Scott Hirsch
B4 Pink Moment
Guitar, Pedal Steel Guitar, Bass – Scott Hirsch
B5 Evening's Wooden Drum
Guitar, Bass, Percussion – Scott Hirsch

Companies, etc.


  • Artwork By – Daren Thomas Magee
  • Layout, DesignDarryl Norsen
  • Mastered By, Lacquer Cut ByIan Sefchick
  • Written-By, Producer, Recorded By, Mixed By, Photography ByScott Hirsch


Hype sticker and download card included

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 7 19104 89265 6
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Etched): ST51-A IS 30679-1(2)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Etched): ST51-B IS 30679-2(2) ISSA GUIDING LIGHT
  • Matrix / Runout (Both Sides Stamped): Mastered at Capitol

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



January 5, 2019
edited about 1 year ago

A friend brought this record over to the house, where as side one spun on, I began thinking that I should get a copy for myself, as what was being delivered on Lost Time Behind the Moon (which is a stunning album title) was comfortable, hazy and couch-bound, played with a light steady hand and was infused with great harmonics, lovely vocals, gentle harmonies, along with mindful soloing that distills an essence of open road meanderings.

Scott Hirsch plays very much within the framework of mild alternative country and easy going Americana, bringing forth a sound quality raptured from those who first laid down this musical path, yet in that same light, his music and verse belong to him alone. This is not simplistic music to create, as it requires skill and patience, being far too easy to get ahead of oneself, where the atmosphere would be entirely lost.

When the record was flipped, the songs “Spirits” and “No No” still retained that comfortable wavy vibe, though the last three numbers seemed to have be flown in from somewhere else, not at all in keeping with the smokey visions I’d gotten myself lost in. This of course precluded me from purchasing the formal vinyl release, which is limited to 1000 numbered copies, as four songs that I can dismiss, are far too many to justify the cost.

That being said, Scott has another album out, Blue Rider Songs, where I discovered that two of the tracks, “Darkness” and “The Sun Comes Up A Purple Diamond,” road in my back pocket as well as the six from this album that I love, meaning I was able to re-create a collection that was effortless and to my liking.

Don’t go underselling what you’re gonna hear, it’s quite wonderful.

*** The record was recorded and produced by Hirsch with the help of Mike Coykendall (of M Ward), and features musical guests William Tyler, Mikael Jorgensen (of Wilco), Orpheo McCord (of Edward Sharpe), Jimmy Calire (of America) and Jesse Siebenberg (of Lukas Nelson and Supertramp).

Review by Jenell Kesler