Scott Walker ‎– Tilt

Drag City ‎– DC134
Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Farmer In The City
Arranged By, Conductor [Conducted By] – Brian GascoigneLute [Chittaroni] – Elizabeth KennyOboe – Roy Carter (2)Orchestra – Strings Of Sinfonia Of London*
A2 The Cockfighter
Celesta [Celeste], Organ [Organ Of The Methodist Central Hall] – Brian GascoigneGuitar – Hugh BurnsHorns, Reeds – Andrew CronshawPercussion – Alasdair Malloy, Louis Jardim*
A3 Bouncer See Bouncer...
Bass Drum [Prog Bass Drum] – Peter WalshBass Flute – Andy Findon*, Jim Gregory*Clarinet – Roy JowittFlute [Flutes] – Jonathan SnowdenOboe – Roy Carter (2)Orchestrated By [Woodwind Orchestration], Organ [Organ Of The Methodist Central Hall] – Brian GascoigneSounds [Locust Sounds Taken From Nigel Eaton's Hurdy Gurdy] – Nigel Eaton
A4 Manhattan
Concertina – Andrew CronshawOrgan [Organ Of The Methodist Central Hall] – Brian GascoignePercussion – Alasdair Malloy, Louis Jardim*
B1 Face On Breast
Bass Drum [Bass Drum On Lap And Kit All At Once] – Ian ThomasOrgan [Hammond Organ] – Colin Pulbrook*Whistle – Peter Walsh, Scott Walker
B2 Bolivia '95
Cimbalom – Greg KnowlesFlute [Ba-Wu Flute] – Andrew CronshawGuitar [Guitars] – Hugh BurnsPercussion – Alasdair Malloy, Louis Jardim*
B3 Patriot (A Single)
Arranged By, Conductor [Conducted By] – Brian GascoigneBass Drum [Military Bass Drum], Cymbal [Cymbals] – Ian ThomasOrchestra – Strings Of Sinfonia Of London*Piccolo Flute [Piccolo] – Jonathan SnowdenTrumpet [Trumpets] – John Barclay
B4 Tilt 5:12
B5 Rosary 2:40

Companies, etc.



No barcode on release. Different barcodes on stickers.

℗ 1995 Mercury Records Ltd.
© 1997 Drag City Inc.
All rights in this sound recording are owned by N. S. Engel.

Recorded at RAK Recording Studios and at Townhouse Studios.
Organ recorded at Methodist Central Hall.
Orchestra recorded at CTS Studios.
Mastered at Metropolis Mastering Limited.

All songs composed '91-'92 except "Manhattan" composed '87 and "Rosary" composed '93 .
For "The Cockfighter" excerpts relocated from the trial of Queen Caroline and the trial of Adolf Eichmann.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text, sticker on shrinkwrap): 0 036172 913411
  • Barcode (Text, sticker on shrinkwrap): 781484013419
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout stamped, 1481.1 and DC-134 A etched): 1481.1 Ⓜ EXP D̶F̶I̶ 95 2 526859-1 A1 DC-134 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout stamped, 1481.2 and DC-134 B etched): 1481.2 Ⓜ EXP D̶F̶I̶ 95 2 526859-1 B1 DC-134 B

Other Versions (5 of 13) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
526 859-1 Scott Walker Tilt(LP, Album, Ltd, Num) Fontana 526 859-1 Europe 1995 Sell This Version
PHCR-1373 Scott Walker Tilt(CD, Album, RP) Fontana PHCR-1373 Japan 1995 Sell This Version
526 859-2 Scott Walker Tilt(CD, Album) Fontana 526 859-2 UK & Europe 1995 Sell This Version
526 859-2 Scott Walker Tilt(CD, Album, RP) Fontana 526 859-2 Europe Unknown Sell This Version
DC134CD Scott Walker Tilt(CD, Album, RE) Drag City DC134CD US 1997 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 7 Reviews

Add Review



December 27, 2014
Was I just unlucky or is this a terrible pressing? A brand new sealed copy I ordered was rife with scratches, skipping and surface noise.