Scott Weiland ‎– 12 Bar Blues

Atlantic ‎– 7567-83084-2
CD, Album, Misprint

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Desperation #5
Guitar, Bass – Tony CastanedaHuman Beatbox – Blair LambHuman Beatbox, Guitar, Vibraphone, Percussion – Scott WeilandMixed By [Additional Mixing] – Mark HowardSynthesizer, Producer [Additional Production], Mixed By [Additional Mixing] – Daniel Lanois
2 Barbarella
Bass – Martyn LeNobleGuitar – Holly ReigerGuitar, Guitar [Ethereal Guitar], Bass – Peter DiStefanoGuitar, Producer [Additional Production], Mixed By [Additional Mixing] – Daniel LanoisHihat [Hi-hat] – Victor IndrizzoHuman Beatbox, Piano, Synthesizer, Percussion, Guitar [Additional Guitars] – Scott WeilandLoops [Acoustic Drum Loop] – Michael WeilandMixed By [Additional Mixing] – Mark HowardProducer – Tracy ChisholmWritten-By [Co-written By], Guitar, Guitar [Slide Guitar Solo] – Tony Castaneda
3 About Nothing
Bass – Martyn LeNobleGuitar [Galactic Surf Guitar] – Tim GilmanGuitar, Drums, Percussion – Victor IndrizzoGuitar, Guitar [Godzilla Guitar], Synthesizer, Percussion, Human Beatbox – Scott WeilandMixed By [Additional Mixing] – Mark HowardProducer [Additional Production], Mixed By [Additional Mixing] – Daniel LanoisTheremin [Theramin] – Tracy ChisholmWritten-By [Co-written By], Guitar, Bass – Tony Castaneda
4 Where's The Man
Bass, Cello – Martyn LeNobleElectric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Organ [Hammond], Piano, Drums – Victor IndrizzoElectric Guitar, Synthesizer, Percussion – Scott WeilandPercussion – Michael Weiland
5 Divider
Bass – Martyn LeNoblePercussion – Michael WeilandPiano – Brad MehldauVibraphone, Percussion – Scott WeilandWritten-By [Co-written By], Drums, Guitar, Mellotron, Piano – Victor Indrizzo
6 Cool Kiss
Bass, Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Drums, Keyboards, Percussion – Victor IndrizzoHuman Beatbox, Guitar [Fx], Mellotron, Synthesizer, Percussion – Scott WeilandMixed By [Additional Mixing] – Mark HowardPercussion – Michael WeilandProducer [Additional Production], Mixed By [Additional Mixing] – Daniel Lanois
7 The Date
Drums, Guitar, Synthesizer, Percussion, Bass, Piano – Scott Weiland
8 Son
Bass, Cello – Martyn LeNobleMixed By [Additional Mixing] – Daniel Lanois, Mark HowardPercussion – Michael Weiland, Scott WeilandWritten-By [Co-written By], Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Piano, Drums – Victor Indrizzo
9 Jimmy Was A Stimulator
Drums, Keyboards, Guitar, Electric Piano [Electric Fuzz Piano] – Victor IndrizzoLoops [Drum Loop] – Blair LambPercussion – Michael WeilandSynthesizer, Human Beatbox, Loops [Drum Loop], Bass [Synth Bass] – Scott WeilandTheremin [Theramin] – Tracy Chisholm
10 Lady, Your Roof Brings Me Down
Accordion – Sheryl CrowBass – Martyn LeNobleCello – Susie Katayama*Synthesizer – Scott WeilandViola – Novi NovogViolin – Joel Derouin, Robin LorentzWritten-By [Co-written By], Piano, Guitar, Drums, Vocals, Arranged By [String Arrangements] – Victor Indrizzo
11 Mockingbird Girl
Bass – Martyn LeNobleGuitar – Tim GilmanGuitar, Drums – Victor IndrizzoHuman Beatbox, Synthesizer, Percussion, Guitar [Additional Guitars] – Scott WeilandKeyboards – Brad MehldauWritten-By [Co-written By] – Jeff Nolan, Zander Schloss
12 Opposite Octave Reaction
Bass – Martyn LeNobleBass [Synth Bass] – Scott WeilandDrums, Guitar – Victor IndrizzoGuitar – Jeff Nolan, Zander SchlossGuitar, Guitar [Guitar Synth] – Peter DiStefanoProducer – Tracy ChisholmRecorded By – Chad Banford, Chris GossRecorded By [Additional Recording] – Daniel Lanois, Jason Gladden, Tracy Chisholm



Recorded at Scott's house, Foxy Dead Girl, Royaltone, Oceanway, The Village, and Master Control. Mixed at Royaltone and The Village. Mastered at Capitol.

Tracklist printed on the back cover is incorrect: it lists 13 tracks with "Lazy Divey" as #3 - the song does not appear on the CD.

8: dedication - For Zack.

Sheryl Crow rocks courtesy of A&M Records, Inc., a PolyGram Company.
Martyn LeNoble and Peter DiStefano appear courtesy of Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Zander Schloss appears courtesy of Interscope Records.

All songs (C) 1997 Foxy Dead Girl Music (ASCAP) except "Divider", "Son", "Lady, Your Roof Brings Me Down" (C) 1997 Foxy Dead Girl Music/Famous Music Corporation (ASCAP; "Mockingbird Girl (C) 1995 UA Music Inc./Floated Music/EMI Virgin Music "It's the Mega" (ASCAP)/United Lion Music, Inc./Sho Me Mo (BMI).

(C)&(P) 1998 Atlantic Recording Corporation for the United States and WEA International Inc. for the world outside the United States.

Made in Germany.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (String): 075678308420
  • Barcode (Text): 0 7567-83084-2 0
  • Other (Distribution Code): EW 851
  • Rights Society: GEMA/BIEM

Other Versions (5 of 13) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
83084-2 Scott Weiland 12 Bar Blues(CD, Album, Club) Atlantic 83084-2 US 1998 Sell This Version
83084-2 Scott Weiland 12 Bar Blues(CD, Album) Atlantic 83084-2 US 1998 Sell This Version
8304-4 Scott Weiland 12 Bar Blues(Cass, Album) Atlantic 8304-4 US 1998 Sell This Version
83084-2P Scott Weiland 12 Bar Blues(CD, Album, Promo) Atlantic 83084-2P US 1998 Sell This Version
7567830842 Scott Weiland 12 Bar Blues(CD, Album) Atlantic 7567830842 Australasia 1998 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



July 11, 2018
Stone Temple Pilots intended to tour in support of their 3rd album Tiny Music… Songs From The Vatican Gift Shop in 1996 but plans had to be cancelled because Scott Weiland once again succumbed to his drug addiction. Out of frustration the remaining Pilots started their own band while Weiland was in rehab, Talk Show and released an album in 1997. Scott Weiland decided to record his own solo album. 12 Bar Blues was the result, and it is amazing. It sounds nothing like his previous work with Stone Temple Pilots. It sounds like a singer/songwriter album, but with lots of drum loops, catchy hooks, keyboards, there is trip hop and even a waltz on it. The art work of the album is a tribute to John Coltrane’s Blue Train.
To me this is the best work Scott Weiland has ever produced, the album is amazing from beginning to end. This album needs a proper vinyl pressing!


January 10, 2017
cover photo reminds me a bit of Squarepusher lol. rest in peace indeed, we lack rock music personalities like him these days


August 15, 2016
Fantastic album. I still like 'Happy in Galoshes' a bit more but this is an excellent recording. Great songs and catchy melodies. You will be missed dear Scott.