Senking ‎– Trial

Raster-Noton ‎– cdr035
Raster-Static – static 4
CD, Album


1 Flaw 4:25
2 Wind Up 4:54
3 Lurk 4:45
4 Trackdown 4:21
5 Hide Out 8:26
6 Pell-Mell 4:56
7 Dent 4:00
8 Lift 4:17

Companies, etc.


  • Composed By, Programmed By, Arranged ByJens Massel


© 2000 Raster-Noton.
Number 4 in the raster.static series.
Released in anti-static bag with card insert.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Label Code: lc 01293
  • Matrix / Runout: [MPO logo] CDR 035 @@@
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L033
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 121D



Add Review



December 20, 2016
Glitch and Microsound Circa 2000

When this release first came out, glitch and microsound music had already been around for a few years but artists like this still were very much along the cutting edge of what was happening in electronic music at the time.

The releases in this series ("Raster Static") were all packaged in anti-static bags with cardstock artwork inserts at the time. Presentation was just as important as the music itself and everything felt highly planned out and conceptual.

On here we have lots of clicks, pops, low bass tones, and flashes of melodic notes that you can't quite hum along too. Although this is nowhere near as experimental and abstract as some of the earlier Raster-Noton releases, it's still quite removed from your average release in this style today.

Listening to this album back to back with a more recent release on Raster, 12K, etc. it is striking how far this music has come in terms of accessibility and melody. As such, I'm not sure how many recent fans of microsound or glitch music would be into this. They'd probably be better off tracking down some of the old Force Tracks albums or similar "microhouse" styled music that was gaining traction at this time.

Personally I think this album has held up quite well even though Senking has done better work (i.e. Silencer) and I'm glad I still have it my collection years later.