Sensurreal ‎– Never To Tell A Soul

Beam Me Up! ‎– BMU 005 CD
CD, Album


1 Nectar 7:46
2 Styra Officinalis 1:47
3 Cuarda Star 9:06
4 Interea 7:32
5 Sxrift 3:00
6 Never To Tell A Soul 15:46
7 Our Thought Is King 4:53
8 Neamotick 9:10
9 Hardfall 10:47

Companies, etc.



The tracklist differs from the vinyl edition of the same album.

P&C BMU 1994

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 413356 949520
  • Barcode (Scanned): 5413356949520
  • Matrix / Runout: EOD BOD01 PIAS BMU 005 CD
  • Rights Society: SABAM / BIEM

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
BMU 005 DLP Sensurreal Never To Tell A Soul(2x12", Album) Beam Me Up! BMU 005 DLP Netherlands 1994 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



March 24, 2010
The debut album by Sensurreal, a dutch project which recorded under Speedy J's Beam Me Up! flagship, is one of those old school rides through many influences and corners of the electronic music spectrum. Basically, it rides the fence, yet it never falls down in nobody's yard.
With a little bit of ambient house, some tribal influences, and heavy nods to early IDM-ish techno and classic old school trance, "Never to tell a soul" is one album way more suitable for the sunny afternoons on the open balcony than for the dark clubs.
Regardless, while the album does sound dated at places, and so (I don't know how to put it in nice terms) 1994, fans of stuff like Sven Vath's sophmore album or Speedy J's "Ginger" should try and fetch this one as well. Actually, try to envision a more chilled out and less complex version of Speedy J's freshman release, and there you have it!
While I don't come back to this album that often, as age has taken its toll, it's numbers like the title track, which breaks into a fabulous deep ambient piece some nine minutes deep, and the closing number Hardfall, with its amazing tribal percussion and gorgeous melodic passages, which still pack a punch and successfully pull me in with their mesmerizing moods.
As for the remaining tracks, it's more of the same formula throughout, though done very well. The melodies are lush and well executed, the pace is relatively slow throughout, and enough styles of electronic music stroll through one album, so you should not be getting bored at any time. That said, most stuff on display here has been said and done by a lot of other artists, and quite frankly, some of them have said it better. Naturally, that is merely a matter of taste. At times, the ambience and the relaxed tone begin to bore me, but fans of the tranced out, more chilled and moderate electronic music should adore this.
I am not completely mad about this album, but there are certain tracks here which I think deserve to be heard by everyone. Oh yeah, real pity about that Styra Officinalis track being so short, that melody really is remarkable...


August 9, 2007
edited over 11 years ago

Sensurreal's first full length album here. "Nectar" immediately offers you Sensurreal's vision, to just make beautiful techno. Sensurreal wasn't trying to sell records, they expressed just what they liked with their music and everything I have ever heard by them is deep in mood and just plain perfect downtempo techno, pure techno art. My only gripe is that "Styra Officialis" isn't longer! That melody is a ambient techno lovers dream. Still 1:47 worth of music is fine, cd set to repeat fixes that. The original version of "Hardfall" is included here. If you have not heard Hardfall then you have not heard one of the most inspirational and most beautiful underground techno records ever made. I do like the version on the 12" a little more than this more chilled out version. As a whole i do like the follow up album "The Occasional Series" a bit more. Slightly UK, slightly Detroit to give you some description of origin, this cd is easily worth the buy.