Sergei Vasilyevich Rachmaninoff, Charles Bruffy, Phoenix Chorale, Kansas City Chorale ‎– All-Night Vigil

Chandos ‎– CHSA 5148
SACD, Hybrid, Multichannel, Stereo, Album


All-Night Vigil, Op. 37 (75:34)
1 Amen. Come, Let Us Worship God, Our King 3:27
2 Bless The Lord, O My Soul 6:08
3 Blessed Is The Man - Alleluia - Glory To The Father - Alleluia 6:32
4 Gladsome Light 4:03
5 Lord, Now Lettest Thou Thy Servant Depart In Peace 4:49
6 Rejoice, O Virgin Theotokos 3:52
7 Glory To God In The Highest - O Lord, Open Thou My Lips 3:19
8 Praise the Name Of The Lord 2:45
9 Blessed Art Thou, O Lord - The Angelic Host Was Filled With Awe - Blessed Art Thou, O Lord - Why, O Women Disciples, Do You Mingle Myrrh With Your Tears Of Compassion? - Blessed Art Thou, O Lord - Very Early In The Morning - Blessed Art Thou, O Lord - The Myrrh-Bearers Were Sorrowful - Since He Is God, He Is Risen From The Tomb! - Glory To The Father, And To The Son, And To The Holy Spirit 7:21
10 Having Beheld The Resurrection Of Christ - For Thou Art Our God - Come, All You Faithful 3:50
11 My Soul Magnifies The Lord - More Honourable Than The Cherubim - For He Has Regarded The Low Estate Of His Handmaiden - More Honourable Than The Cherubim - For He Who Is Mighty Has Done Great Things For Me - More Honourable Than The Cherubim - He Has Put Down The Mighty From Their Thrones - More Honourable Than The Cherubim - He Has Helped His Servant Israel - More Honourable Than The Cherubim 10:34
12 Glory To God In The Highest - Thou Alone Art The Lord, Jesus Christ - To The Glory Of God The Father - Let Thy Mercy, O Lord, Be Upon Us, As We Have Set Our Hope On Thee - Blessed Art Thou, O Lord - I Said: Lord, Have Mercy On Me - Lord, I Flee To Thee 9:19
13 Today Salvation Has Come To The World - He Has Given us The Victory And Great Mercy 2:13
14 Thou Didst Arise From The Tomb And Burst The Bonds - Releasing All Mankind From The Snares Of The Enemy! 3:59
15 To Thee, The Victorious Leader Of Triumphant Hosts 1:52

Companies, etc.



Recorded in DSD (Direct Stream Digital).
Plays on any CD and SACD players (Hybrid disc).
Recorded at Cathedral of St. Peter The Apostle, Kansas City, Kansas, USA May 24-26, 2014.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 95115 51482 5
  • Label Code: LC 7038


Add Review



October 22, 2016

The sound quality of this recording is incredible; a true audiophile grade recording indeed. That's true for the CD layer as well, it's well, well above average.

Musically it's a lovely performance too! I haven't been this moved by a choral work in a long time. The Vespers are an inspired work by Rachmaninov, and I'm truly glad he was miserable enough to compose it. Sorry, Sergei, but thank you.