Shaman (2) ‎– Ritual

Nothing To Say ‎– 3077212
CD, Album


1 Ancient Winds 3:17
2 Here I Am 5:57
3 Distant Thunder 6:23
4 For Tomorrow 6:47
5 Time Will Come 5:32
6 Over Your Head 6:38
7 Fairy Tale 6:57
8 Blind Spell 4:34
9 Ritual 6:37
10 Pride 4:11

Companies, etc.


  • BassLuis Mariutti
  • Co-producer, EngineerPhilip Colodetti
  • Drums, Keyboards [additional keyboards], Congas, TimbalesRicardo Confessori
  • Guitar, Keyboards [additional keyboards]Hugo Mariutti
  • Musician [additional musician], Acoustic GuitarSascha Paeth (tracks: 4, 7)
  • Musician [additional musician], Backing VocalsTobias Sammet
  • Musician [additional musician], Backing Vocals [additional female vocals]Rannveig Sif Sigurdardottir (tracks: 2, 7)
  • Musician [additional musician], Flute [baroque flutes]Anette Barryman (tracks: 7)
  • Musician [additional musician], Keyboards [keyboard arrangements], Keyboards [programming], Arranged By [orchestra & choir arrangements]Miro
  • Musician [additional musician], Keyboards [keyboard solo]Derek Sherinian (tracks: 6), Fabio Ribeiro (tracks: 8)
  • Musician [additional musician], Keyboards, Backing VocalsAxel Naschke
  • Musician [additional musician], Lead VocalsTobias Sammet (tracks: 10)
  • Musician [additional musician], Percussion [derbak], Percussion [dehola], Percussion [daf]George Mouzayek (tracks: 6)
  • Musician [additional musician], Violin [five string electric violin], StringsMarcus Viana (tracks: 1, 4, 6)
  • ProducerShaman (2)
  • Producer, Engineer, Mixed By, Mastered BySascha Paeth
  • Vocals, Piano, Keyboards, Arranged By [Orchestra & choir arrangerments]Andre Matos

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 3 596971 772123
  • Matrix / Runout: DOCdata FRANCE 3077212
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LR81
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 3805
  • Other: WAG 334

Other Versions (5 of 12) View All

Cat# Artist  Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
04400645212 Shaman (2) Ritual(CD, Album) Mercury, Universal Music 04400645212 Brazil 2002 Sell This Version
VICP-61893 Shaman (2) Ritual(CD, Album) Victor VICP-61893 Japan 2002 Sell This Version
SHA01 Shaman (2) Ritual(CD, Album, RE) Not On Label (Shaman (2) Self-released) SHA01 Brazil 2018 Sell This Version
82876 5486545 Shaman (2) Ritual(Cass, Album) BMG 82876 5486545 Thailand 2002 Sell This Version
CDM 0603-1424 Shaman (2) Ritual(CD, Album) CD-Maximum CDM 0603-1424 Russia 2003 Sell This Version



Add Review



October 16, 2018

Formed by former Angra frontman Andre Matos, Shaman is another one of those typical power/progressive metal bands that are pretty unknown and only have small, cult followings to go by. I’d seen ‘Ritual’, their 2002 debut album, pop up on a number of websites such as Amazon and eBay, where it was being compared to prog metal pioneers Dream Theater, and while I was never under any illusion that they were as good or prominent, it just seemed like they were a bit of a cult band that had something special to offer.

Unfortunately they’re not really anything out of the ordinary when it comes to this kind of music.

That’s not to say they’re bad, in fact, ‘Ritual’ took quite a few listens to get used to, but it’s actually a pretty decent album. It’s not overly “progressive”, but is definitely a typical power metal record with fast, upbeat songs (with an almost “happy vibe”), incredible musicianship, and in fairness, Matos vocals are damn impressive too. The tracks are all well produced, and with solid songwriting that takes influences from Brazilian music, it’s an interesting enough debut, if not generic, but still pretty good none-the-less.

Tracks like ‘For Tomorrow’, ‘Distant Thunder’, ‘Time Will Come’, ‘Here I Am’ and the title track are all pretty good songs that are definitely worth a listen if you’re into this kind of thing. While most of them employ the usual traits of the genre, there are a few moments that do make Shaman stand out. ‘For Tomorrow’ has a very nice, tribal sound, with some interesting vocals and guitar work, while ‘Time Will Come’ has some very tasty, speed metal-inspired riffs.

Shaman aren’t anything particularly unique or innovative, and while it took a fair amount of time to get into, I’m glad I stuck it out, because ‘Ritual’ is a pretty solid debut that shows a band that certainly has potential to improve.