Shostakovich*, The Borodin Quartet* ‎– The Complete String Quartets, Vol. 1 (Nos. 1-5)

Melodiya/Seraphim ‎– SIC-6034
3 × Vinyl, LP, Stereo


A1 Quartet No. 1 In C, Op. 49 13:50
Quartet No. 2 In A, Op. 68
A2 (Beginning) 8:05
B1 (Conclusion) 27:50
Quartet No. 3 In F, Op. 73
C1 (Beginning) 16:10
D1 (Conclusion) 16:35
E1 Quartet No. 4 In D, Op. 83 24:55
F1 Quartet No. 5 In B-Flat, Op. 92 29:25

Companies, etc.



Original Borodin String Quartet recordings as released by Melodiya in 1967:
Дмитрий Шостакович* - Квартет Им. Бородина* / Квартет Им. Прокофьева* - Квартеты

These performances were then issued in the west by Melodiya/Seraphim. This the first volume. The second volume is:
Shostakovich*, The Borodin Quartet* - The Complete String Quartets (Vol. 2 Nos. 6-11)

Around the time these recordings were released, Shostakovich completed two more quartets. These were recorded and released in 1972:
D. Shostakovich* / Borodin Quartet* - Quartet No. 12 - Quartet No. 13

This new set of the "Complete Quartets" was issued in the west by Melodiya/His Master's Voice in 1974:
Dmitri Shostakovitch*, The Borodin Quartet* - String Quartets 1-13

This original set of 13 quartets was remastered and reissued by Chandos in 2003:
Shostakovich* / Borodin Quartet (Original Members)* - String Quartets 1 - 13

The original quartet lost Yaroslav Alexandrov due to ill health in 1974, followed by the defection of first violinist Rostislav Dubinsky to the west in 1976. The quartet reformed under the leadership of Valentin Berlinsky. New performances of all 15 Shostakovich quartets were recorded from 1978-1983:
Д. Шостакович* / Квартет Имени Бородина* - Квартеты № 1, 15
D. Shostakovich*, Borodin Quartet* - Complete Quartets

Dubinsky's defection bruised Soviet pride. Domestic releases of this era avoid references to the changes of quartet membership and are ambiguous about the performers and dates of recordings.

Dated Discogs releases and reissues from 1979 onward are ambiguous about the precise membership of the quartet:
The Borodin Quartet*, Dmitri Shostakovich - String Quartets, Vol. 1