Silicon Scally ‎– Mr. Machine

SCSI-AV ‎– ID009
2 × Vinyl, 12", Album


A1 Auton 6:06
A2 Chrome Introduction 7:00
B1 Downtime 5:23
B2 Entron 7:49
C1 Magnified 6:45
C2 Micron 5:57
D1 Non Functional 6:20
D2 Mr. Machine 5:59


Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



February 11, 2004

Awesome double album by Silicon Scally aka Carl Finlow. Minimalistic and moody electro the way I like it. Very sparse use of sounds and yet each one so powerful as to create an essential electro album. I'm not going to discuss every track on this album, just picking out those that really catch my ear (although there really isn't one bad track on this double album): "Auton" immediately sets the tone with a brooding bassline and apocalyptic synths.
"Downtime" brings up an image of funky Internet servers breaking down (yes, I'm a nerd) and you just loving it.
"Entron" is pure machine music with a haunting digital vocal and menacing textures...machine's closing in on you. Awesome track and for me one of the best on the entire album...together with "Magnified". I just love the way this track starts out very simple with nothing more than a simple drum sequence and then gradually adds more elements: beats, bass,a hypnotic dark pad, wobbling synths, little blips and bleeps that make your skin crawl! Brilliant!
"Non Functional" is an instant classic if you ask me: pure electro that you just have to move to. Once again very carefully selected sounds and minimal programming...Carl definitely knows how to make the whole greater than the sum of its parts!